Mashed potatoes. My family loves them! When we have mashed potatoes, I usually make enough to have leftovers. I guess you could call them “planned-overs”.  Sometimes those good intentions end up as a slimy, pink and gray mass in the back of the refrigerator in a plastic container that nobody wants to open!

No more!

The other night I decided to try something with my extra mashed potatoes. Violá! A new family favorite was born. Corn and Bacon Potato Patties.

Corn and Bacon Potato Patties

You can heat your potatoes first if you like. Just don’t heat them up too much. You want to be able to handle them without scorching your hands.

All I did was mix a little corn and bacon into my already delicious mashed potatoes. I think I may have added a little onion, too, and maybe some cheese, hmmm. Be creative with your own add-ins.

Form the mixture into patties. You can make them as big or as small as you like. Mine were kinda medium. I know that tells you a lot.

Beat an egg or two, depending on how potato patties you are making. Dip the patties in the beaten egg then cover them with Panko breadcrumbs. The Panko bread crumbs are the key, well, except for that other stuff. But the Panko bread crumbs are much crunchier than regular breadcrumbs.

Fry ’em up in the pan until golden. (I think I used canola oil.)

Enjoy!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: “I love this dish. It’s a combination of mashed potatoes and fried potatoes nicely encased in a crunchy breading. I’ve requested that when the chef prepares mashed potatoes that she prepare more than necessary on purpose so that we will have left over mashed potatoes with which to make these little gems. They are wonderful.”

Megan: I think this is my new favorite way to eat potatoes.

Katie: Awesomeness just waitin’ to happen! Yummy!