Peaches were on sale the other day. I couldn’t resist bringing some home!

bowll of peaches

Can’t you just almost smell them?

fresh peaches

Truth be known, I’m not that big of a peach fan. Sorry. I’ve always wanted to like peaches. I don’t just HATE them, but they are not my first choice. However, there are other people who live in this house who LOVE peaches. So, I bought them.

I didn’t really have a plan for the peaches when I bought them. I thought the kids might munch on them. Then I thought about making something like peach cobbler. Finally, I decided to go with Peach Melbas.

A Peach Melba is basically peaches, vanilla ice cream and raspberry sauce/jam. Wouldn’t you know it–we were out of raspberry jam! Hrumph! So, we substituted strawberry jam. It was tasty but not as tasty as raspberry.

The first order of business was to peel the peaches.

Here is a simple method for removing the skin while keeping the fruit.

First, bring a pot of water to a simmer on the stove. How much water? You only need  just enough water to cover the peaches.

pan of simmering water

While you are waiting for the water to simmer, score the fruit. Just a simple “X” will do.

score the fruit

Into the water with the peaches. Be careful, you don’t want to bruise them.

add peach to boiling water

It doesn’t take long for the skin to start to let go of the fruit. When you see it starting to happen, go ahead and remove the peaches.

loosening skin

Like magic, the skin is easy to remove.

peeling peaches

You can see how my thumb is starting to push the skin off effortlessly.

removing peach skin

Cut up the peaches however you like–halves, slices, bite-sized pieces. We chose the latter.

Place the peaches in a serving dish. Top with a big scoop of good vanilla ice cream.

Our ice cream of choice…

ice cream

Heat your raspberry jam in the microwave or on the stove. Drizzle the jam over the peaches and ice cream.

Peach Melba

I’m sure you can get all fancy and make an actual raspberry sauce. We were going for easy and yummy!

Even with the strawberry jam, it was a fabulous summertime treat!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Peach, good. Ice cream, good. Jam, GOOD!

Megan: Words cannot describe the deliciousness. It might just be the sugar rush at 9:00! (Yes, I gave my kids Peach Melbas at 9:00 PM.)

Katie: This is by far the best, y’all. (Katie had us all rollin’ in the floor laughing at her Paula Deen impressions! Granted, we do say “y’all” at our house.)