Sorry, if you are a subscriber, you got a half-sentence post. Aaah, the benefits of membership.

I was trying to figure something out on the keyboard. Evidently, Control+P is PUBLISH! AAAAAAaaaakkkk! Good to know. Or was it Option +P? Rats! Now I don’t remember what I hit!

Whew! Glad that is over-I hope it is anyway.

On with the post…

With the temperature reaching 105˚ around here, what sounds better than a nice tall glass of lemonade? Why, lemonade cookies of course!

This recipe comes from the 1998 Christmas Cookies magazine. It was one of those special edition publications put out by Better Homes and Gardens. I love this issue. It is a “Special:50-State Salute”. There is a recipe that is supposed to represent each state. There are “Buckeyes” for Ohio, “Maple Leaves” for Vermont, “Bourbon Balls” for Kentucky, “Potato Chip Crispies” for Idaho, and “Pink Lemonade Cookies” for Arkansas. I’m not really sure why Arkansas got pink lemonade, but I’m glad. Being from Arkansas, I HAD to make them! (The girls actually made this batch!)

Pink Lemonade Cookies

1/2 cup softened butter (no substitutes)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 egg

1/3 cup frozen pink or regular lemonade concentrate, thawed (If you made my Lemonade Pie you will have enough concentrate left over for the cookies.)

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

red food coloring (optional)

Pink Lemonade Frosting

•Beat butter in a mixing bowl with an electric mixer for 30 seconds.

•Add sugar, baking powder, and baking soda; beat till combined.

•Beat in egg and lemonade concentrate.

•Beat in as much of the flour as you c can with the mixer. Stir in any remaining flour with a wooden spoon.

•If desired, add red food coloring to tint dough pink.

•Drop by rounded teaspoons 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

•Bake in a 350˚ oven for 10-12 minutes or till edges are golden.

•While cookies bake, be sure to sample what is left in the mixing bowl!

•Cool cookies on cookie sheet for 1 minute; transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

•Frost with Pink Lemonade Frosting.

Pink Lemonade Frosting

Beat together 2 tablespoons butter, softened; 2 cups sifted powdered sugar; 2 tablespoons* frozen pink or regular lemonade concentrate, thawed; and enough water (3-4 teaspoons) to make a spreading consistency. If desired, add red food coloring to tint frosting pink.

* The recipe calls for 2 teaspoons of lemonade concentrate. I have found that I like it to have a little more zing than that. I add 2 tablespoons. Play with it and see what you like.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Dandy! Just dandy!

Megan:  The fruits of our labor are delicious, as for the labor itself, very messy.

Katie:  The cookies were really tangy and sweet at the same time.  I loved to make them with Megan! (At some parts, Mom had to help us with some stuff, but that’s beside the point!) Megan made a tiny one just for me, and when it cam out of the oven, it was soooo cute! I have named it Teeny Weeny, because it can fit in the palm of your hand! I loved it!