Have you tried these yet?

They were on sale at Kroger the other day, plus I had a coupon, so I thought I’d give ’em a whirl.

Now, I like regular Fig Newtons, at least when I first get them. I rarely get them. When I do, I am usually feeling nostalgic or something like that. After I’ve had a few the moment passes and the rest of the cookies get dried out and hard in the pantry because no one else likes them. I was a bit skeptical of these “thins”. Then I noticed that they was a Chocolate Raspberry flavor! See the other flavors here.

I asked the gal at the check out if she had tried these cookies. She wrinkled her nose and said she had heard they were gross. Boy, was I excited to try them now.

I took the cookies home and left them in the pantry.

No, I wasn’t that scared of them. I just wanted the “critics” to all try them at the same time. The perfect testing time arrived. We didn’t have anywhere to rush off to for the evening. The kids started asking for dessert after supper. I presented the cookies. Everyone was excited to try them. I think they mainly just wanted some dessert.

The cookies were sweet, but not too sweet. Chocolatey, but not too chocolately-as if that were possible-ha! Crunchy, but…you get the picture. They were yummy. We all had a second round. The girls even asked for them in their lunch boxes.

I wouldn’t go as far as to say they are a healthy snack.  I guess that  is good-they taste better that way!

I’m not sure if we will try the other flavors or not. We will have to find another coupon. Let me know what you think about these. Here is what the critics said…

Critics’ Corner

Chip:  Well, it ain’t no cheeseburger, but it’ll do.

Megan:  I absolutely love them! The only thing I didn’t like was the seeds that got stuck in my teeth.

Katie:  They were delicious! (No, really, that’s all I have to say!)