Chickpeas? Really? We have a recipe that uses chickpeas that everyone likes.(I guess I’ll have to share that one later.) So, when I saw this recipe in Woman’s Day back in December I thought I’d try it.

Here is what you need:

2 cans (15 oz each) chickpeas

1/2 cup grated Parmesan

1 Tbsp olive oil

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper –ok, so mine wasn’t freshly ground, sorry

pinch cayenne pepper (optional)

Click the picture of the recipe to enlarge.

1. Rinse the chickpeas under water,

spread them out on paper towels and let dry  for 15 minutes.

A cooling rack with a couple of layers of paper towels did great. The cooling rack kept the chickpeas from rolling around all over the place.


Pat the chickpeas dry with additional towels; discard any loose skins.

Click on this picture and you will be able to see the skins that have loosened.

I have to admit I got a little obsessive about this step. Every time I would rub the chickpeas with a paper towel, more skins would loosen. Peeling off the skins was fun, kinda like when you have a sunburn.

2. Meanwhile, heat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl, whisk together Parmesan, garlic powder, salt, pepper and cayenne, if using.

Add the chickpeas and toss to coat.

I thought they would get coated better if I tossed them in a big Ziploc bag.

Yep, that’s me-doing the zip bag dance!

3. Spread the chickpeas on a rimmed baking sheet and roast, tossing twice, until dried and very crisp, 50-60 minutes. Let cool completely on the baking sheet.

I wish I had taken a picture when I went to stir them. They looked really different each time.

I cooked the chickpeas for 20 minutes, stirred, 20 minutes more, stirred, then I started thinking maybe they had gone long enough. I got nervous and pulled them after they had cooked about 50 minutes.

They turned out ok. They remind me a little of Corn Nuts, of which I am not a huge fan. They weren’t quite what I expected. Here is what the Critics had to say.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: They turned out a little crunchier than I thought they would — sort of like Corn Nuts. And, since I consider Corn Nuts to be a tasty treat, I consider Crispy Parmesan Chickpeas to be a tasty treat, too.

Megan: They were OK, but I don’t think it should be a regular on the menu.

Katie: They were okay, but they tasted sort of weird to me.