I think today was the seventh day the kids have missed school on account of snow this winter! That is practically unheard of here in central Arkansas. Looks like they’ll be in school until the 4th of July! Let’s hope not.

Last night’s snow storm produced the most winter weather we have seen this year. We had about 3  inches of sleet followed by about 3 inches of snow.

snow tracks

deep snow

I know some of you from outside the South are laughing at that. I get it. We used to live in Indiana. This stuff shut down the schools, the malls, offices. Chip drove home yesterday as it was all getting started. He said the Interstate was bad.

Check out my fancy snow trekkers! They are little slip-ons that go over your regular shoes. Nifty, huh?! My in-laws got them for me for Christmas. At the time, I wondered if I would ever use them-that’s how little winter weather we get around here.  I sure was glad I had them today! I didn’t slip once!

snow trax

We are all home today. Our “to-do” list consists of drinking hot chocolate, playing board games and strolling around the block.

So, here are scenes from the walk!

I was happy to have a walking partner today.

walking partner

snow shadows

Many of these buildings and houses are on the National Register of Historic Places.

First Presbetyrian Church Lonoke

Lonoke United Methodist Church

church pew

We weren’t the only ones out and about–

snowplow

some folks, however, might wish they had stayed home!

cars stuck in the snow

Looks like this awning had all the sleet and snow it could handle.

awning repairs

Having 4-wheel drive means you are invincible, right?

driving in snow

4-wheel drive

road workers

railroad lights

Lonoke train depot

Here is Chip-standing in the middle of the road while there is zero traffic.

desserted street

Hey, look! Signs of Spring!!!

signs of Spring

Dr. Holmes office

Eagle house

Sambo

critter tracks

kids

ivy

magnolia

For some reason, I don’t think our little solar lights are going to gather much sunshine like this.

solar lamps

solar lights

Even the winter decorations on the porch (okay, they are leftover from Christmas) look pretty with snow on them.

snow-covered lantern

I hope you have enjoyed your snow days this winter. I was glad we got a really good dose this year. I think I’m ready for Spring now.