Last week, I was sitting at the computer when I suddenly felt the urge to do some organizing. That urge is sporadic at best!

I decided to go through some of my back log of blog post photos. I had some in a file from another computer. Some were on the external drive. There were things in wrong folders, and duplicate files were making me crazy! I’m sure NONE of you can relate to such madness!

I finally got everything moved from the computer to the external drive that needed to be moved. Happy dance!!

One of my now nice-and-neat files is “PCTuesday in the Queue”. Unfortunately, there are close to 100 files within this file. UGH!

WHAT ON EARTH?! you may be asking.

Well, these are photos I took for blog posts that I just haven’t gotten around to writing yet. Some of them are missing the ever-important “final” picture. Others, I had hoped to get comments from the Critics but never did. Then there are items that I look at now and go “really?”!

So, all that introduction brings us to today’s post–Vegetable Tart. I’m working on finishing up some of those posts. Hooray for me!

Vegetable Tart

 

You may have seen a photo similar to this floating around Pinterest a while back. (Y’all, I pinned this recipe over a year ago and actually made this last APRIL!)

It is a very fancy looking dish. It takes a little time to prepare but is not difficult.

Ingredients:

Pie crust

3-4 carrots

5-6 zucchini

salt, pepper, thyme

olive oil

Start by prepping your vegetables.

peeling vegetables

Use a vegetable peeler to peel thin slices of each zucchini and carrot. When you start to get to the middle of the vegetable, turn it over. Then you will have nice, wide slices with color on them. Of course the carrot is colorful all the way through. Still flip it over. It makes for nicer slices.

Now the recipe didn’t really say what to do with the oil or spices. I’ll tell you what I did and what I’d do next time.

I did all my spiraling, you’ll see that in a minute, then drizzled oil and sprinkled spices over everything.

I used a bit too much oil and my crust got soggy-and not in a good way.

Next time, I will mix the spices with the oil and toss over the vegetables BEFORE I put them in the crust.

For the spiraling:

Just start in the middle and work your way out.

I had a little piece in the middle. Alternate zucchini and carrot rows.

starting the vegetable tart

Keep adding vegetables until your crust is full.

Isn’t it pretty?

I can’t believe I actually made that!

spiral vegetables

The recipe was vague about the cooking time. I just baked my Vegetable Tart like I would bake a pie. Just follow the directions for your crust. Usually about 375˚ for 30 minutes will work. Just keep an eye on it.

Zucchini and Carrot Tart

I was not sure how well this would go over with the family by itself. So, I served some grilled chicken with it.

I think I could have used a few more veggie strips in my tart.

It was tricky to cut. It kinda fell apart.

veggie tart slice

Ooo, maybe next time I will add a little egg in there, too! I guess it would be more of a quiche then.

I know you gardening folks are planning your vegetable gardens now. Be sure to plan on some zucchini and carrots!

Vegetable Tart