The hubs and I went on a little lunch date last week.

selfie

Aren’t we goofy and cute?!

Chip works at Arkansas Blue Cross. His company has recently opened a restaurant in their main building. Since Chip is “the camera man” he was instrumental in helping with some of the restaurant’s photographs as well as some of the graphics. He has been talking about The Green Leaf Grill for months! He’s even gotten to eat there several times. Finally, I talked him in to taking ME!

sinage

It was a beautiful day to be in downtown Little Rock, especially in February. Just look at that blue sky!

It was quite busy at the Green Leaf Grill. There are many ordering options–deli, grill, pizza, entrée, salad and more.

chefs on the line

green beans

chef at work

Salads are made to order right in front of you.

salad bar

Fresh, local ingredients are used every day.

grilled chicken

blue cookware

They even have a pizza oven!

pizza oven

Chip had the Ham and Swiss Panini on a pretzel roll with sweet potato fries. He thoroughly enjoyed his meal.

ham and swiss

He offered me a bite, but my plate was so full I didn’t think I could spare the room.

I chose the Grilled Flat Iron Steak. It was served on a bed of greens and edamame with red and yellow beet chips.

steak

Oh, my goodness! It was so yummy! The steak was perfectly cooked. I had never had a yellow beet. They are good! I liked them better than the red beets!  I really liked having the edamame in with the greens. I need to remember to get some next time I’m at the store.

There is a cookie bar where you can package your own cookies to take back to the office. I didn’t have room for cookies. I guess I have to save room next time. Oh, there will be a next time!

cookie bar

Thanks for the great meal, Chef! Look, I’m a dork! I had to have my picture with Chef Jason.

with the chef

The Green Leaf Grill is located at 601 South Gaines in downtown Little Rock, AR.

They are opened for breakfast Monday-Friday 7:00 am – 9:30 am

Lunch is served Monday-Friday 10:45 am – 2:00 pm

Be sure to check their menu weekly for specials.

Which would you choose–Chip’s sandwich and fries or my steak and salad?