This recipe for Coconut Cake Supreme is a family favorite.

I got this recipe from my Mom. I’m not sure where she got it. She made it for Christmas one year, and we all loved it!

It is so moist and yummy!

It has become a must-have at my family’s Christmas table every year. I usually end up making it for Easter as well. I don’t dare make it in between the two holidays, unless I’m taking it somewhere. I do think I could eat it every day and not get sick of it. It is that good.

This year, the cake was such a hit at Christmas, we had it again for New Year’s Day! These are pictures of the 2014 cake! My mother-in-law actually made this one using my (Mom’s) recipe. It’s a family thing!

Slice of Coconut Cake.jpg

Coconut Cake Supreme.jpg

Coconut Cake Supreme

1 package yellow cake mix (The recipe calls for the 18 ¼ oz. size.  Mix sizes have changed, so get as close as you can.)

2 cups (16 oz.) sour cream

2 cups sugar

1 ½ cups flaked coconut

1 carton (8 oz.) Cool Whip

Cake:Bake cake, according to box directions, in two 9” pans. Cool in pans 10 minutes. Remove to wire rack.

Filling: Combine sour cream and sugar; mix well. Stir in coconut (filling will be soft). Set aside 1 cup of filling for the frosting.

Assemble: Split each cake into 2 layers. Place one layer on serving platter. Cover layer with 1/3 of filling. Repeat with other layers. Fold reserved filling into Cool Whip; frost cake. Refrigerate at least 4 hours.

10-12 servings