Falling Leaves Cookies

I love seeing the fall colors. We have a pretty little maple tree in the back yard that is still holding on to its leaves.

We spent last weekend clearing the yard of leaves. The next day you could hardly tell we had done any work at all.

I have many happy memories of raking and playing in the leaves. Fall is a happy time. I guess that is why I am in no hurry to get to Christmas.

autumn cookies

I had a small amount of leftover cookie dough in the fridge, so I decided to make these cookies. I was inspired by these cookies I saw on Pinterest.

I took the easy way out on the decorating. The white part is good old ready-to-spread frosting. The tree trunks are made from melted chocolate chips. The leaves are teeny tiny leaf-shaped sprinkles!

Tiny sprinkles

So cute!

a spoon full of sprinkles

They are called Micro Sprinkles.

sprinkling leaves

The girls had fun adding the leaves for me.

wind-blown cookie

tree cookies

leaf cookies

last fall leaf

Katie had a writing assignment at school around the first of October. In my “unbiased” opinion, I thought it was very good! It seemed fitting to share it along with this post.

Enchanted Place by Katie Bayer (age 12)

Being outside in fall is my favorite place to be. Here, I watch the pale morning sun as it plays golden shafts of light on the ground, livening the crisp, fall-time air. Its warm rays flow across the sap and morning dew, and they glisten on the earthen floor like spun sugar. Leaves fall like gentle rain, blanketing the ground in richness and color.

All around, nature sings its song. Leaves lazily strum the air as it passes, playfully blowing tendrils of loose hair around my face and bringing the faint, melodic call of a care-free bird to my ears.

All around me, nothing is heard except for the bird’s call or the song of the leaves rustling listlessly in the wind. They shyly twirl through the air and land softly on the crown of my exposed head. I take it off tenderly and observe its vibrant color, its fragile lace tightly webbed in between sturdy veins. I let the wind professionally claim them, the cool morning air running thinly through my outstretched fingers. I exhale, breath billowing visibly from between my lips, close my eyes, then inhale again, savoring the smoky scent of burning leaves. I smile. I am right where I want to be, my enchanted place, and I will enjoy every second that I am here.