One of the goodies in my “swag bag” at Foodie Friday at the Arkansas Women Bloggers conference I attended was this cookbook from the Arkansas Beef Council.

Beef Council Cookbook

I have a slight addiction to cookbooks, so you can imagine my excitement.

As a perused the glossy pages, one recipe jumped out at me. The reason…

quinoa

You may remember my previous experience with quinoa. Click here for a refresher. I have to say, after that experience, I was determined to not be defeated by a grain!

I am happy to report success using quinoa in the Rock and Roll Beef Wraps. Although, at first, I thought it sounded like a weird thing to add to a beef dish like this one.

Beef and Quinoa

Quite frankly, I am surprised I tried this recipe at all. It had another strange twist–coleslaw mix! Really?! Okay.

Slaw Mix

Oh, and there was this, too…

Ranch Dipwell, ranch dip is not too weird.

beef mixture

It all cooked down quite nicely though.

Then you put it in a tortilla, thus the “wrap”. We used whole wheat tortillas. You can use whatever kind you like.

filling the tortilla

The optional toppings listed on the recipe are apple slices, red bell peppers strips, cucumber slices, carrot slices, sliced almonds or chow mein noodles. We had yellow peppers from the garden and yummy Honeycrisp apples. Again, different type of stuff for our little table.

yellow peppers

honeycrisp apples

add apples and peppers

I cut my wrap on a diagonal thinking that I would be all fancy for a picture. I recommend you skip this fanciness. My wrap kinda fell apart and it didn’t really look that good for the picture, in my opinion.

that's a wrap

I did like this recipe. I really liked having the pepper and apple in there. The honeycrisp apples are especially yummy! The sweetness of the apple helped cut some of the saltiness of the Ranch Dip. I think next time I will cut back on the mix a bit. (Amount listed below is the original amount in the recipe.)

This was an adventurous thing for me to try. I do feel as if I have won, at least this round, against QUINOA!

Rock and Roll Beef Wraps
1 pound ground beef
1 cup water
1/3 cup uncooked quinoa
2 tablespoons dry ranch dressing mix (see note above about the mix)
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 cups packaged broccoli or coleslaw mix
4 medium tortillas
  1. Brown and drain the ground beef.
  2. Stir in water, quinoa, ranch dressing mix and pepper-bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer 10-15 minutes until quinoa is tender.
  3. Stir in slaw; cook uncovered 3-5 minutes or until slaw is tender-stirring occasionally.
  4. Divide mixture evenly among the tortillas. Add desired toppings (see above). Roll it up and enjoy!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: It was different–unusual flavors and textures–but it was good.

Megan: It was a rock concert of flavor.

Katie: What can I say? I loved it (for the quinoa). It was a bit too salty.