One of my favorite activities at Blog Camp was getting to participate in 5K sponsored by New Balance.  The 5K came the morning after our delicious cupcake binge.

We were greeted bright and early by crazy people. Lisa and Ashley were way too perky and energetic for so early in the day. Runners-humph!

Really, they were lots of fun!

5k leaders

Since New Balance sponsored the run, all the New Balance wearers posed for a photo op.

New Balance in the 5k

Let me say this…I am not a runner. I walked the 5K. I walked the 5K with a big old camera draped around my neck. Now, THAT is exercise!

I didn’t have a planned partner for the walk. I ended up walking with Talya from Grace, Grits and Gardening. (Since I failed to get a picture of us together, I borrowed one from her website.)

talya

I’ve been following Talya for a while now, so I was really excited to get to know her! I love when she has musical pairings to go with her posts. Talya is a genuine gal. I really enjoyed sweating with her!

There were so many great sights to see along the race path.

Ferncliff Fog

We had a couple of challenges along the way. This was the only one I photographed. I was too busy sliding down a fire pole to take other pictures.

5k jumping jacks

Ferncliff Cabin

Ferncliff Chickens

Ferncliff Goat Garden

I was so inspired by the AWBU 5K that I entered a local race a couple of weeks ago.

The Great 5K Pumpkin Fun Run is a fun event that supports the Open Arms Shelter. Follow the link for more information about the shelter.

I had some great supporters walk/run with me.

pre race 2 2

pre race 1 2

Look at all the wonderful pumpkins and gourds that were available to purchase. (These pictures were taken while I was on my walk the day before the race. That is why there are no people in the pictures.)

depot

colorful pumpkins

gourds

bumpy pumpkins

white pumpkins

pumpkins

All of these beauties came from our friends’ farm.

How cute is this house of pumpkins?!

pumpkin house 2

And look who was at the event sharing fall decorating tips…

gourd garland 2

P. Allen Smith! I did say hello! Unfortunately, I looked like this…hot and sweaty!

post race 2

The kids took off and left us right off the bat and had a blast. I did actually run bits and pieces of the 5K but walked mostly. Who knows, maybe I’ll do another 5K and actually run the whole way–someday.