Yes, I know Lemon Spaghetti sounds a little weird. I came across this recipe in a cookbook I picked up at the library. I clearly do NOT have enough cookbooks and recipes and recipe pins on my Pinterest board! I NEEDED to check out a COOKBOOK at the library!

French Women Don't get Fat Cookbook

You will need to chop up TWO onions for this recipe. I know it sounds like a lot of onion. Trust me on this one. The first time I made it I only used one onion. I thought my family might freak out if I use two. It was good, but not as good with two onions.

chopped onion

I used cooking wine rather than the real deal.

olive oil and wine

You will need the zest and juice of one whole lemon.

lemon zester

If you don’t have a zester, go get one! You need the zest! Don’t skip the zest!

Add lemon zest

I also recommend that you squeeze your lemon over a strainer of some sort. I tried to do the catch-the-seeds thing the first time I made this. I ended up picking seeds out of a hot pan.

juice a lemon

The recipe didn’t call for chicken. I added it because I thought my husband family would like it better if it had meat! It did call for Parmesan cheese, which I forgot to add. It was fine without it, probably because of the chicken! I cheated and used pre-cooked chicken. I’m not really sure how much I used-about a half a bag. Sorry to be so vague.

add chicken

I served the Lemon Spaghetti with a side of baby broccoli.

Lemon Spaghetti

I think we all ended up mixing the broccoli into the spaghetti. I was told, however, to never mix it in to serve it that way. Everyone should be able to add broccoli or not add broccoli! Okay!  The lemon and broccoli were a nice complement to each other.

Lemon Spaghetti with Broccoli

Lemon Spaghetti

12 ounces spaghetti

3 Tablespoons olive oil

2 medium onions, peeled and minced

1/2 cup dry white wine

Zest and Juice on 1 lemon

Cooked, diced chicken (optional)

Steamed broccoli (optional)

1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (evidently optional)

1. Cook the spaghetti

2. Meanwhile, heat 1 Tbsp olive oil in skillet over medium heat. Add onions. Cook until softened.

3. Add the wine, lemon zest and lemon juice. Season to taste. Increase heat to medium-high, bring to a boil for 1 minute. Reduce heat to medium, simmer for 5 minutes

4. Drain pasta and add to the skillet along with remaining olive oil, chicken, and broccoli. (if your family will let you) Season to taste. Garnish with Parmesan cheese.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: I love lemon-flavored dishes — lemon-peppered chicken, lemon cake, lemon ice box pie ice cream, lemon cookies — so I was excited about this dish from the minute I heard about it. It was incredible. The citrus added a real zing that made this dish unique. It is an instant favorite with me.

Megan: It was a little lemony-er than I expected. But, I loved it anyway. I think it tastes best with broccoli mixed in!

Katie: What’s chicken-y, lemony, and just plain yummy all over? If you know what this comment is about, then you know the answer.  : )