Oatmeal Scotchies

I sent my oldest off to band camp this week. She has her standard “camp snacks” that she likes to take. (Sorry about the fuzzy picture. I guess that’s what happens when I use my husband’s fancy camera when he is not around.)

Camp snacks

Camp time is the only time I ever buy Ritz bits.

I always send a box of homemade cookies to camp as well. She almost always wants chocolate chip cookies with milk chocolate chips. She is the only one in the family who prefers milk chocolate rather than semi-sweet, so I usually comply. We had 3 bags of butterscotch chips in the pantry. There must have been a sale or something. I asked her if Oatmeal Scotchies would be okay to send.

cooling cookies

My poor children. They said they had never heard of Oatmeal Scotchies! Apparently, I am falling behind in my parenting!

The recipe I used came from a cookbook my mother-in-law gave me one Christmas. However, it is the same as the one you find on the back of the butterscotch chips package.

Trio of Cookies

They were incredible right out of the oven with a cool glass of milk!

These would be great back-to-school cookies. When I took a bite of that warm, homey cookie I could almost hear the marching bands and smell the burning leaves. They really have a nice “fall-y” flavor.

Oatmeal Scotchies

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

¾ cup granulated sugar

¾ cup firmly packed brown sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon cinnamon

3 cups oats, uncooked

2 cups Butterscotch flavored chips

•Heat oven to 375˚.

•Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon with a whisk. Set aside.

•Beat together butter, sugars, eggs and vanilla until creamy.

•Gradually add combined dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix well.

•Stir in oats and butterscotch chips.

•Drop onto an ungreased cookie sheet.

•Bake 8-10 minutes. Cool 2 minutes on cookie sheet. Remove to wire rack and cool completely.

snack

What kind of snacks do you send with your kids to camp?

Critics’ Corner

Chip: They were good, but they could have used less butterscotch and oatmeal and more chocolate chips and pecans. Still worth eating, though.

Megan: I was a bit skeptical at first, but these gooey little treats easily worked their way into my top 5 favorite cookies.

Katie: A little taste of fall! Scrumdiddlyumptious! : )