After the chorus sang for our guests at the Tea, we served a plate of savories.

Savory Tea Plate 3

Before I tell you about the food, I want to give a special shout out to my gal-pal Susi!

Chef and sous chef

If I was the “chef”, Susi was my “sous chef”. I think she can pull that off really well if we call her a Suz-chef! Get it? She how I made a little funny with her name?

We also had some fabulous servers. Here are a few of them getting instructions on how to serve tea from D’arylan Ball, the caretaker of the home.

Getting instructions

Susi and I were the ones in charge of the kitchen. The two of us did all the plating of the food. Susi also made the fabulous Cranberry Chicken Salad Puffs.

Chicken Salad Puff

She made the puff pastries from her family’s never-fail recipe. The chicken salad was wonderful! One of her secrets was to use rotisserie chicken!

Susi, leave us a comment on how you made your chicken salad.

Savory Tea Plate 2

Don’t you just love the internet? When we started planning for this event, Mom and I started searching for recipes, crafts, and anything inspiring. The two of us started a Pinterest board to save our ideas as well as share them with one another. This was a very helpful tool. You can see our board here. We are still adding to it. You never know when you might need tea party recipes again!

The tomato sandwich and cucumber round both were found during our search.

The cucumber rounds were really easy. Before slicing the cucumbers, I scored them with my zester/scorer from Pampered Chef. I used the end with the small holes. Of course, if you don’t have one of these, you could just peel part of the cucumber off with a regular old peeler. We had to go fancy though!

zester:scorer

After slicing the cucumber into approximately 1/2 inch slices, I used a tool similar to this…

corerMine, however, is just a regular old strawberry huller. I scooped almost all of the seeds out of each cucumber slice, leaving a little base for the cheese.

As you may or may not know, cucumbers are FULL of water! I placed my slices, hollowed-out side down, on some paper towels in a container in the fridge overnight. I sure didn’t want cucumber juice all over the serving plate!

Oh, by the way, the idea for the cucumber slices came from Annie’s Eats. I love her blog.

Annie made her Cucumber Bites with Boursin Cheese in the middle. Well, Boursin Cheese can be a little pricy at the store.

I was overjoyed to find a recipe for homemade Boursin Cheese here.

HOMEMADE BOURSIN CHEESE SPREAD
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
4 tablespoons butter, softened
1 small clove garlic, coarsely chopped
1/8 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
1/8 teaspoon dill
2 teaspoons chives
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped

In a mini food processor, process the cream cheese, butter and garlic until blended. Add the remaining ingredients and process until well combined. Put in an airtight container and chill a couple of hours to allow the flavors to develop. Serve with crackers or raw vegetables.

Makes about 3/4 cup
Can be frozen

For some reason, I couldn’t get my fancy decorating tip to work right–an operator problem, no doubt. I had made the spread the night before and stored it in a resealable bag. I added a little whipping cream to the mix then I just snipped off the tip. I was able to squirt the spread into the cucumber cups with ease.

They weren’t quite as fancy as I wanted, but they were very tasty!

Savory Tea Plate 1

The Tomato Sandwiches were a HUGE hit! I was surprised because they were so easy!

The inspiration for the Tomato Sandwiches came from Paula Deen! I did do a little tweaking of my own on this one.

The bread I used was the cheapest plain ol’ sandwich bread they had at Walmart. I used brown and white, like Paula. Using a small biscuit cutter, I was able to get two cuts from each piece of bread. I made bread crumbs with the leftovers.

Cutting out the little rounds went really fast. I put them in Ziploc baggies in the freezer until the night before the party. I had LOTS of things in my freezer until the night before the party! Being able to do a lot ahead of time was essential!

Tomatoes are like cucumbers in that they are packed with water!

I did the whole slice and drain thing with the tomatoes like I did the cucumbers. DO NOT skip this step. If you do, you will have a soggy sandwich! Yuck!

Here is the spread that I put on the sandwiches…

SAVORY PARTY SPREAD

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 package (0.7 ounce) dry Italian salad dressing mix

I just spread it on each piece of bread and put a tomato in the middle. A little piece of parsley spruced up the top a bit.

Savory Tea Plate 3

Three little bite-sized treats was perfect for our first course.

Two more courses to come~stay tuned!