As you know, I have been trying to cut calories lately. That means a lot of my “go-to” recipes are out the window, at least for now.

I hit good old Pinterest to find some low-cal options. I found a few to try.

I really have been cooking lately. I just have not quite been in “blogger” mode.

Quite frankly, it has made dinner a little easier. Stopping to take photos at every step does kinda slow you down.

So, here are some of the recipes we have tried recently with only a screen shot of the recipe from my Pinterest page!

Please visit the links provided under the picture to see the original post by the original blogger. You might consider following me on Pinterest, too!

Veggie Soup

Cheesy Vegetable Chowder from Lulu the Baker

I liked this recipe. It was cheesy enough to be yummy, yet I felt like I was eating a healthy meal.

Serves 8

219 calories per serving

Critics’ Corner

Chip: I don’t normally like veggies in my cheese, but this time I’ll make and exception. Very good.

Megan: It was much thinner than I expected, but that turned out to be a good thing. I don’t normally like cheese in my veggies, but this time I’ll make an exception. (silly girl!)

Katie: It was really, really, really, really, really, really, really, good, good, GOOD!

Baked Chicken Parm

Baked Chicken Parmesan from Gina’s Skinny Recipes

Holy Cannoli, Batman! This was yummy! I needed to put a little more sauce between my pasta and my chicken. That’s an easy fix. This one is a keeper!

Serves 8

216 calories per serving-doesn’t include pasta

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Molto bueno (or however Italians say “That was crazy tasty”!)

Megan: Like pizza on a chicken breast.

Katie: I love me some chicken parmeeseean! : )

Mexican Shredded Beef

Mexican Shredded Beef form Skinny Ms.

This was very yummy! You can see by my Pinterest comment that I didn’t quite follow the directions. I’ll have to try it again the right way. There was a lot of juice, which made for yummy meat. It also made for drippy dinner.

Serves 6 (at least when I used the leftovers)

152 calories per serving-meat only

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Additional Mexican food recipes can only be a good thing.

Megan: This may be the only time something was too messy. The juice dripped all over my plate (and even on me) and reminded me of Chico’s Tacos.

Katie: I found it rather dee-lish-ee-ous!