Happy 2013 everyone!

The kids went back to school today. Therefore, life must return to “normal”. Normal, I suppose, includes a blog post! So, we have come to the point in the year, the first post of the year, where I tell you all the stats from last year.

Why? Why do I feel I must do this? Peer pressure? Everyone else is doing it!

If you are a regular around here, none of these posts will be new to you.

However, if you are new, maybe you’ll see something you like and go investigate.

Here goes…

According to the statisticians at WordPress, thank you very much, these are the posts that got the most views in 2012. (Strangely enough, all of the Top 5 are actually from 2011. I guess I can look at that in a couple of different ways…1) Stuff I wrote about in 2012 wasn’t as interesting as 2011 topics, or 2) These posts have staying power–like a little black dress! We’ll go with #2.

#5 Christmas Tree Tour

Bible made from a matchbox and alphabet pasta

Bible made from a matchbox and alphabet pasta

#4 Tie Dyed Fingernails

swirling polish 4

#3 Linguini Salad

Linguini Salad finished

#2 Christmas Party Food

CheeseMan

#1 Dr. Seuss Snacks

proud moment

I had a hard time trying to decide my favorite post of 2012.

I have to say, I was extremely happy to finally finish the Impressionist series. You can see the entire series here. Part X is here.

waiting to go inside

I piggy-backed this post in the BLOGtober series I did with Arkansas Women Bloggers. That was fun too. You can see that series here.

I think my favorite new recipe I tried was Cannellini Beans. Y’all, it is just so good!

spooning beans

Looking back on 2012, we really did a lot! We ate great food, at home and off of trucks! We visited family and friends. We crafted.

My favorite thing we did last year was make a pirate movie with the kids and some of their friends, then hosted the premier for the movie.

The planning, the scrounging, the cooking…it was all good!

table 2

And now, here are the Critics’ favorites.

Critics’ Corner

Chip:

Favorite dish–Pork Chops and Field Peas

ready to serve

Favorite Restaurant–The Bavarian Chef

Schweineschnitzel

Favorite Event–Movie Premier

watching movie

Megan:

Taste–Bud Biscuits

15-hot biscuits

Coolness–Butterfly Cupcakes

completed butterflies

Creative Title–Help! I ate something green!

more kale

Fun–Bocce Ball

bocce ball 1

Gross–Welch’s Fruit FIZZ

box

Katie:

Great Wolf Lodge!

main attraction

Strawberry Delight!

Strawberries outside

Thank you for following my little blog. Whether you are a subscriber to the blog or the Facebook page, get here from Pinterest, or stop by at random, your visits, “likes” and comments are appreciated!

Now I know why people do the “year in review” post…happy memories! I plan on making some more in 2013! I hope you are there to share them with me.