Hooray! I made it to Foodie Friday with BLOGtober Fest! I just want to take a moment here to thank the gals at Arkansas Women Bloggers for this fun week! It definitely WAS a challenge. I guess I need one of those every now and then. I’m already looking forward to the next ARWB challenge/event. Thanks! If you are in Arkansas and you are a Woman and you have a Blog, sign up! It’s free!

I have wanted to experiment with stamping cookies since I got these babies at the Craft Gossip get together a year ago! These acrylic stamp blocks were in the incredible swag bag we took home compliments of EK Success Brands.

We also received some cute Halloween bottle cap clings to go with the blocks. The bottle caps are cute, but I wanted to try with something a little larger.

The clings are a little on the pricey side. They weren’t out-of-this-world expensive. It’s just that I’m always looking for a bargain.

I hit the jackpot a few weeks ago when Michael’s had all their rubber stamps, including the clings, 50% off! I came home with a “few”.

These are the ones I used for my cookies this time.

I supposed I should add a disclaimer of sorts here. I have no idea if these products are “safe” to use with food or not. I wasn’t selling these cookies to anyone, so I figured it was okay to try. No one who ate the cookies got sick or died! Try this at your own risk!

The cling stamps are really cool! you just peel the stamp from the package and press it onto the block. When you are finished using it, just wash it, peel it off and store it back in the package. Cool! What I really like is being able to place my stamp in a specific spot. With the acrylic block there it no more guessing if you got your stamp in the right place.

Since the stamp I chose referred to the golden beauty of fall, I decided to try out a product I had never used before–pearl dust.

You can use the pearl dust dry, straight from the bottle. You can also mix it with a little vanilla to make a paint. The directions are on the back of the package.

I tried several different techniques. Click on the cookies below to see which method was used for which cookie.

My cookies didn’t turn out quite like I had hoped. I think I will have to give it another whirl. One thing I did discover was that the cooler cookies were easier to stamp. A little flour seemed to help some to keep the stamp from sticking on the cookies. DO NOT try to stamp the cookies when they are hot! I had the “smart” idea that that might work better–WRONG! Overall, it was a fun little experiment. I will have to work on it some more.

Happy Fall Y’all!

They are talking about me at CraftGossip.com