Today’s BLOGtober Fest prompt is Fall Traditions.

I was not really excited when I saw today’s topic. I thought, “We don’t have any Fall Traditions.”

So, I kind of put it off for a little while, so I could think about it. While I was vacuuming the floor I thought, “Will I make it through this BLOGtober Fest?”

Here I am–Day 3–IN.A.ROW!

Anyway, what to write about…I could write about Thanksgiving and what our family does.  Nah, some of our traditions have had to morph as the families have formed and moved to other parts of the country.

Ooooo, I could write about Black Friday adventures! Well, truth be told, we haven’t been the past couple of years. Black Friday has gotten waaaay out of control. It used to be fun and exciting to stand in the 5:00AM line at Kmart for an Elmo cookie tin. Ahhh, the good ol’ days!

I could write about our visits to Aunt Mary’s house for the Lonoke v. Clinton football game! Oh, yeah, I already did that. You can read about it here. Aunt Mary is coming to our house this year! We don’t have any 4-wheelers to ride or guns to shoot, but I’m sure we will have fun.

I’ve got it! I’ll share some of our County Fair photos with you today. The really good pictures in this post were taken by my husband. (That is why he isn’t in any of the pictures!) If they aren’t so good, I probably snapped them. Hmmm, I wonder who took this one?

We love the county fair. It is very small. It is very small town! The rides are almost always the same, so are the smiles!

There is always the county fair parade. Everyone is in the county fair parade–marching bands, rodeo queens, politicians, pee wee players, you name it.

Our kids were in the parade one year as twirlers!

These days you will find us cheering on the marching band-go band!

The parade doesn’t go ALL the way to the fair grounds, pretty close though.

From uncertainty…

…to belly laughing

We have all taken the opportunity to enter something in fair competitions.

Here I am with my quilted scarecrow wall hanging.

One year I made strawberry jam from strawberries our sweet neighbors gave us.

Katie’s last-minute kitty cat sketch brought home a blue ribbon.

I love Chip’s photo from Lake DeGray.

Megan LOVES to enter as much as she can in the fair. Check out that Best of Show ribbon on her scratch art.

I always say I’m going to finish some of those UFOs (UnFinished Objects) for the fair next year. We’ll see.

We actually try to limit our intake of fair food. For one thing, it is expensive. For another, you just CAN’T eat too much of that stuff. It’ll kill ya’!

We’ve had corn dogs, funnel cakes, fresh lemonade, and more. This year we were brave and ate deep-fried Oreos. I thought they we just okay. Everyone else seemed to love them.

As I ponder back over the years at the county fair, I realize it is a GREAT fall tradition. We look forward to it every year. How about you? Do you have a special fall tradition? Zip over to the ARWB website and see what some of the other BLOGtober Fest folks are writing about today.

P.S. I just had to add this picture today. Our family spends a lot of time raking the leaves in out yard–after playing in them.

I came across this little leaf crown picture. All together now, awwwww.