I’m writing this post while I’m on a break, a much-needed break!

I made cookies yesterday. I’ll share those in another post. Here is a sneak peek.

They were awesome! The caramel frosting was sooo yummy!

I wasn’t really sure how to store them with that topping on there. I decided to let them set up over night to be sure they weren’t still gooey. So, I had about 60 cookies on my counter top.

I did go ahead and was those dishes, thank goodness.

Last night’s dinner was a bit of a “fail”. I tried a beef tips recipe off of Pinterest. Bleh! It had a packet of gravy mix and onion soup mix and some other stuff. It was a crock pot recipe. It just tasted way too processed. I can do and have done better.

At least the clean up was easy, thank goodness.

I ran the dishwasher yesterday before dinner. Some of the dishes got emptied, because we used them for dinner. The rest got left until “later”.

When “later” finally arrived, at about 9:50PM, I went to hand-wash a few dishes. Much to my surprise, both sides of the sink backed up with water! This has happened before at our house. It takes two plungers to unstop our sink. Well, it was late. Chip had already headed to the bedroom. I didn’t much want to wash dishes anyway! So I left it all and went to bed.

Ugh!

This morning, fixing breakfast and packing lunches with zero counter space was a challenge. Remember the cookies? I managed. We even were able to use some of those clean dishes from the dishwasher for breakfast! Fortunately, Chip had time to plunge the sink for me. Of course, plunging the sink meant that all the dishes, clean and dirty, had to find somewhere on the counter or stove or wherever.

Cleaning the kitchen this morning started with a big sigh! Where to begin?

I dove in! Anything that was on the counters that obviously didn’t belong had to leave. Next, the dishwasher and clean dishes from the sink got put away. Dirty dishes were washed or put in the dishwasher. Cookies were neatly packed away with parchment paper between layers.

Things were starting to look pretty good. Then it happened. It seems like when there is a big cleaning project to do, it always happens. I don’t know why it does. But it did.

There is that moment when you find one really messy spot or drawer or shelf or whatever that must be cleaned. I’m not talking about squirt some Clorox on it clean. I’m talking about you can not stand to look at that mess ANY MORE.

Today, that “mess” was the hard water stains around my kitchen faucet. I’ve scrubbed before. I’ve used all kinds of products. Today I was going to beat those stains!

I used a lemon and some salt. That got most of the stain, not all of it. The stains were winning! So, I pulled out some baking soda. I made a little paste on the stains. After letting the paste sit for a while, I scrubbed with my lemon. Almost all of the remaining stain was gone–almost all. There were just a couple of rogue spots left. I pulled out the heavy artillery, the SOS pad! Oh, yea, that’s a W for me and an L for the stains! (wins and losses)

I realize a picture of a clean faucet is not really that impressive with out the “before” picture. I know how bad it looked! This is proof of the clean!

I started to throw away my SOS pad when I spied the burner pans on the stove. I remembered that the pasta pot had overflown last night. Lovely, starchy pasta water everywhere. I figured I’d give that one burner a scrub.

It would look weird to have one clean pan and the rest filthy! So I figured I better scrub them all. The first one still has some spots that just didn’t want to come off. What a work out! See why I needed the break?!

As I’m scrubbing my little heart out, my brain gets to wandering.

I thought…If only I had cleaned these things right after the spills had happened. After stuff gets baked on there, they are much harder to deal with! This was not a new revelation to me. I have scrubbed these pans in the past.

Aren’t we just like that with God? We let sin in our lives. Maybe it is just a little spill. “No biggie, God knows I didn’t mean to do it.” We should confess our sins as soon as we are aware of them. Don’t let them get “baked on”.

I John 1:9 says, “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

To read more about why we need forgiveness click here.

I’ve got more pans to scrub. Thanks for the break!