Back in January I came across a fabulous looking Spinach Strawberry Salad on the Internet.  Thinking I might eat healthy food sometime, I decided to check it out.

I am so glad I did! Monica’s website, The Yummy Life, has so many great sounding recipes!

Although I was initially attracted to the beautiful salad, it was the salad dressing that grabbed my attention–Raspberry Poppy Seed Dressing.

As if a fancy salad and pink polka-dotted dressing was not enough, one of the ingredients in the dressing was Raspberry Vinegar! Oh, my! So pretty!

I knew I would have to try this for myself!

First the vinegar…

This was incredibly easy!

Monica’s recipe calls for 2 cups of white wine vinegar and 1 cup raspberries.

The vinegar I bought only had 12 ounces in it. So, I ended up using  3/4 cup berries and 1 1/2 cups vinegar.

Be sure the berries are clean and don’t have any nastiness on them.

Put the berries, fresh or frozen, in a canning jar with the vinegar. Screw the lid on tight. Hide it in a dark place for a couple of weeks. You don’t have to do anything to it during that time.

Here is what they look like after they have soaked.

You can eat the pickled berries, if you like that kind of thing. Most of the color has gone out of them by this time, so they look a little weird.

Warning! Necessary Specialty Item!

Yes, you NEED to use the cheesecloth, unless you know of a suitable substitute. It took a bit of searching for me to find the cheesecloth at the store.

Get out a bowl. Put a strainer on it. Put the cheesecloth in the strainer. Strain the vinegar off of the berries.

You are left with your beautiful raspberry vinegar!

Isn’t it pretty?! Now you want to go make some too, don’t you! This would make a lovely Christmas gift!

Here is Monica’s recipe for the Raspberry Poppy Seed Dressing…

Raspberry Poppy Seed Dressing

  • 1/4 cup grated/minced onion (half of a small onion)
  • 1/2 cup raspberry vinegar (for recipe, go to http://www.TheYummyLife.com/recipes/142); may substitute white wine vinegar
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup sugar, to taste
  • 1 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons poppy seeds
Directions

3 EASY WAYS TO MIX THE DRESSING:
–In a blender or food processor. Mince the onion. Add vinegar, sugar, mustard, & salt to the blender or food processor and mix until combined. With the blender/food processor running, add the oils in a thin stream through the hole in the top. Blend until well mixed. Add poppy seeds and pulse just until mixed.
–In a bowl. Whisk together vinegar, sugar, mustard, salt, minced onion, and poppy seeds until well combined. Continue whisking while adding the oils in a thin stream. Keep whisking until well combined.
–In a jar. Add everything except the 2 oils to the jar. Cover and shake to combine. Add 2 oils and shake vigorously until well combined.

If too thick, may be thinned by whisking in water a tablespoon at a time until desired consistency. Dressing will keep in the refrigerator for several weeks.

I went with the jar method because, well, it meant fewer dishes to wash!

I did use a big grater to grate the onions. I was tempted to just chop them up really small. Grating them is definitely the way to go.

Using the jar method also meant it was easier to recruit helpers!

Well, my salad didn’t look quite as fancy, but it sure was yummy!

No comments from the Critics. They are not big salad eaters. I’m working on them though.