Wow! Look what I made! Okay, so I need to work on my rolling technique a little, but still!

To be honest, I don’t think it would have mattered at all how it looked. It tasted soooo yummy!

This is an old Pampered Chef recipe.

If you have ever seen on of their cookbooks, they tell you exactly what pan, cutting board, and scraper to use. They are, after all, trying to sell you their stuff. I said all that to say this, there are a couple of specialty items you will need for this recipe. Do they have to be Pampered Chef? No.

Luscious Lemon Angel Roll

Ingredients:

1 package (16 ounce) angel food cake mix

3/4 cup powdered sugar, divided

1 jar (11.75 ounces) strawberry ice cream topping, divided

1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened

1 lemon

7 drops yellow food coloring (optional)

1 container (8 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed, divided

Powdered Sugar

whole strawberries and lemon slices for garnish

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350˚F.

Cut an 18-inch long piece of PARCHMENT PAPER. Do not leave this part out! It is important!

Press into bottom and sides of a Stoneware Bar Pan. In non-Pampered-Chef-speak this means a jelly roll pan, approximately 10×15.

2. Prepare cake mix according to the package directions.

Pour batter over prepared parchment, spreading evenly.

Bake 30-35 minutes or until top springs back when touched with fingertip. Or do that toothpick thing.

Remove from oven to a cooling rack.

3. Sprinkle  1/2 cup powdered sugar over the cake.

Place ANOTHER sheet of parchment paper over the cake. Place ANOTHER cooling rack upside down over the parchment. Carefully turn the cake out at once.

Remove pan and parchment from the bottom of the cake. Sorry, no pictures of me flipping the cake! That would have been quite a trick!

4. Starting at one short side, roll up cake IN THE PARCHMENT. Cool completely.

You are going to cool it in the roll.

5. After cooling completely, unroll the cake on a cutting board. Throw away the parchment paper. Spread the cake with 1/4 cup of the ice cream topping.

6. In a bowl combine cream cheese and remaining 1/4 cup powdered sugar.

7. Zest the lemon. I know what you are thinking, “I’m not going to zest a lemon! That is just fancy stuff!” USE THE ZEST! It really does make a big difference.

Squeeze the lemon to get about 1 tablespoon of juice. Add the zest and the juice to the cream cheese mixture. Whisk it all together. Add the food coloring if you want.

8. Fold in 1 cup of the whipped topping.

9. Spread over the ice cream topping to within1 inch of the edge; re-roll the cake.

10. I was not going to be serving my cake until that evening, so I stuck it in the fridge.

11. Sprinkle the top with more powdered sugar. Add your fancy garnish.

Sorry I didn’t get a cross-section picture. That would have been cool. But people had arrived and I didn’t want them to have to wait while I took yet another picture!

12. Serve with extra strawberries and whipped topping. I had extra strawberry syrup available too, just in case.

Everyone loved it!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: The cake has a great firm texture that goes great with the smooth lemon filling. Nice and cool. As Guy Fieri would say, “This is out of bounds!”

Megan: Glad my braces don’t prevent me from having this!

Katie: The lemon was a bit too much for my taste. But other than that, I loved it! Not to mention that strawberry on the side! : )