When having lunch this summer, the girls and I would plop ourselves down in the den to watch the News at Noon while dining on our PB&Js. Yes, I know it is not exactly the thing to do. So, please, no lectures on eating in front of the TV.

After we had seen the weather report (which was usually the same 0% chance of rain, 110˚) we would flip over to the Food Network or the Martha Stewart Show. If neither one of those was too interesting there was always Bugs Bunny!

This particular day we watched 10 Dollar Dinners with Melissa d’Arabian. To be quite honest, I had never watched her show before. I always kinda’ thought, ” $10?! What’s the big deal? I do that every night!” We watched anyway.

She was making Cannellini Beans. I had heard of them before but had never had them. They are pretty much white, Italian kidney beans. You can find out all in the world you ever wanted to know about cannellini beans on this website. That’s right, they have their own website!

The recipe looked yummy so we tried it.

The recipe calls for herbes de provence. I had never had that either. You buy a bottle of it over on the spice aisle. I’ll tell you now, so you don’t freak out at the store, it is not an inexpensive item. It makes this dish so delish though!

The white wine is also a key ingredient, I think. We don’t keep wine around, so I used cooking wine. It was still very yummy–just in case you prefer to go that route as well.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 sweet bell pepper, finely chopped
  • 1/2 medium onion, diced
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup chicken or vegetable stock
  • 1 teaspoon herbes de provence
  • 3 cups cooked cannellini beans
  • 1/2 baguette, sliced and toasted, for serving

Directions

In a medium saute pan, cook the bell peppers and onions in 2 tablespoons olive oil until soft, 5 to 7 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, another 2 minutes. Deglaze the pan with white wine and allow to boil for 1 to 2 minutes. Add the stock, herbs de provence, and beans and simmer for 20 minutes. Pour into shallow bowls and drizzle with the remaining olive oil. Serve with bread slices.

I brushed my toast with olive oil then rubbed a garlic clove on each piece before toasting.

This was absolutely one of the most delicious meals I have ever made or eaten! I just felt so fancy eating it! Weird, I know. It had a very complex, yet light, flavor. I loved it! Be sure to see what the Critics had to say.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: A taste of Tuscany–on toast.

Megan: This is better than pizza! (high praise from a teenager)

Katie: I love, love, love, LOVE these beans!