Food… monuments…on to museums!

Our museum of choice for this trip was the Air and Space Museum. It is part of the whole Smithsonian museum system. There are so many museums and galleries it was hard to choose which one to visit.

In true Smithsonian style, the Air and Space Museum did not disappoint.

There was just so much to explore!

The girls really enjoyed the space parts of the museum.

Megan has loved learning about space since she was 4 years old. We didn’t have to read any of the plaques-we had our own tour guide!

After exploring the Air and Space Museum, we decided to head over to the Museum of Natural History. By the time we left Air and Space and hiked over to Natural History we only had about an hour before closing time.

We grabbed a map, after going through security, and quickly decided what we wanted to see the most.

Chip wanted to see the mummies, the girls wanted to see the minerals, and I wanted to see the gems and the butterflies.

The gems and minerals were together, so that was our first stop.

There were about a gazillion people in the gems exhibit. It was push and shove just to see, much less get a good picture. Such a shame. There were some beautiful diamonds! Here is the obligatory picture of The Hope Diamond.

The minerals were AMAZING! I think that was my favorite part.

I want around with my eyes wide and my mouth hanging open. I was truly struck by how big God is! I was immediately reminded of this verse, Job 38:4

Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?

Not only did God CREATE the whole world out of nothing, he did it with variety and beauty!

A little taste of home.

One of these days I want to go to the crystal mines. I haven’t been since I was a kid. I have been to dig for diamonds fairly recently. No, I didn’t find one. Yes, I am ready to go back.

The butterfly exhibit was closed when we got there.

We did make it to the mummy exhibit. Our pictures turned out a little fuzzy, but here it is anyway.

This person was alive somewhere between 200 B.C. and 150 A.D.

Who knows, this person may have seen Jesus feed the 5,000! Really cool!