Ice Cream Bread that is!

I’ve been wanting to try this one out for a while. I tore the page out of a Southern Living then I couldn’t find it. After searching through my piles of recipes, it occurred to me that it might be in a cookbook. Sure enough! I found it on page 252  in the 2005 edition of the Southern Living Annual Recipes.

A recipe sure sounds easy when it only has TWO ingredients! I’ve tried some of those 2 ingredient recipes you might have seen floating around Pinterest. My family gave those attempts bad reviews, so I was skeptical.

I thought this one delivered! The Critics, however, had mixed reviews.

Ice Cream Bread

1 pint (2 cups) ice cream, softened

1 1/2 cups self-rising flour

  • Stir together ice cream and flour, stirring just until flour is moistened.
  • Spoon batter into a greased and floured loaf pan.
  • Bake at 350˚ for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  • Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

I think my self-rising flour was a little too old. It didn’t rise quite like I thought it should.

Nothing’ wrong with the way it sliced…

…or tasted!

A little butter on that warm bread sure was yummy! A moist, dense bread with just a touch of sweetness.

I think I would like to try something like Butter Pecan or Strawberry. I also would like to try a premium brand of ice cream. I had just plain old generic Walmart vanilla ice cream in a blue box. May have to splurge next time.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Pretty good! I’d like to try it à la mode.

Megan: ¡Es muy bueno!

Katie: Um…it was just okay. I didn’t care for it much.