Well, I’m back to testing some recipes out of my cookbook collection.

This one comes from a Taste of Home magazine from 1999. While writing this post, I discovered Taste of Home has a great website. Check it out here. I’m sure you already knew that though.

This recipe is a two-fer. For those of you who don’t live in the South—two for the price of one.

Click on the picture below for the full recipe, as seen in the cookbook. Ok, that big gray spot is not in the cookbook. I was just trying to eliminate confusion over which recipe I was referencing.

Naturally, the little pockets would work with your personal favorite pot roast recipe. This sure was yummy though.

You can almost smell it, huh?

Seems like I had a small roast, so I shorted the veggies a little. Next time I will be sure to have plenty of carrots. They are my favorites! Apparently, not everyone feels the same.

My mouth is watering. I really shouldn’t blog on an empty stomach.

Assuming you have leftovers…plan for leftovers….you can make the yummy Pot Roast Pockets.

The recipe is on the same picture as the Pot Roast recipe above. Basically, you just chop up your leftover meat and veggies and mix with leftover gravy. Aaaaaa! (Did you hear the angels singing? GRAVY-Aaaaaa-there they go again!)

You will need some pie crust. You can buy those ready made crusts at the store. My store-bought preference…

However, I usually make my own pie crust. It gets rave reviews. Matter-of-fact, I tend to get scolded if I use store-bought crust.

I use Martha’s pie crust recipe.

You’ll want to use a plate to help you get perfect circles. I used a saucer. I didn’t want my pockets/hand pies/whatever you want to call them to be too big.

Fill the pastry with your leftovers. Avoid the temptation to fill them really full. You will have an exploded hand pie if you do!

Wet the edges a little. I just used my finger. Then fold the pastry in half. Use a fork to seal.

Cut slits in the top—again, to avoid an explosion in the oven. Brush with cream or egg or milk or not at all. I used cream. Bake at 450˚for 20-25 minutes.

Just look at those browned edges, would ya’?!

Aaaaaaa! Gravy Goodness! You heard the angels singing that time didn’t you?

One is NOT enough!

Why have I never done this before?

Well, this won’t be the last time I make Pot Roast Pockets!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Any time you have gravy wrapped in pastry you’ve got a winner. This was no exception.

Megan: The only flaw I was able to find was the large bites of gravy.

Katie: It’s insane how good it is!