I’m finally back to blogging. After receiving a nasty comment about my absence, I figured I better get in gear. Okay, it wasn’t really nasty. It just made me realize “my people need me!” “I’m ready for my close up!” blah, blah, blah, ha, ha, ha!

We had a fantastic Christmas and New Year’s with family and friends. However, all that fantastic celebration required a little recovery time.

There was laundry recovery.

There was take down the Christmas decorations recovery.

There was update the checkbook and budget recovery.

Somehow, none of that made me feel very recovered.

Anyway, we are starting to get back into a routine around here. I so miss Christmas though. It always makes me a little sad to put my fancy decorations away.

I haven’t really been cooking that much. We have still been trying to eat up leftovers.

ham sandwiches…

ham salad…

ham in potatoes au gratin…

In the style of Frances…What I am, is tired of ham.

Last night we had chicken finger salad. Throw some frozen chicken fingers in the oven. When they are done, chop them up, and add them to a salad. Whew! I was really steppin’ out on that one!

Since we had eaten up all the desserts in the house, I thought I’d try something simple.

I saw a recipe for 2 Ingredient Lemon Bars here.

It sounded yummy and easy.

All you need is a box of Angel Food Cake mix and a can of Lemon Pie Filling.

Mix them together.

Bake in a 9 x 13 pan for 25ish minutes at 350˚.

Katie was off working on some homework. I gave Megan the option of doing dishes or making the dessert. She chose the dessert. Of course, she still had to was her baking dishes! Ha, ha! I got her!

She thought the pie filling looked like “alien snot”. She was very insistent that I put that in my blog post.

The batter was very thick. The recipe didn’t say to grease the pan or not, so we didn’t. It also didn’t specify the amount of baking time-thus the -ish. We just baked it until it didn’t jiggle any more, and a cake tester came out clean.

It did puff up nicely…

at first. This is the same cake. The picture is from the same angle. Can you tell how deflated it is?

A little powdered sugar on top might help hide the flatness. (Take a look at those napkins. Yes, Chip was for Alabama last night.)

Well, the simplicity of this cake was wonderful. HOWEVER, I didn’t care for it. I LOVE lemon bars. Lemon bars is one of my favorite desserts. This recipe tried to pass itself off as lemon bars. FRAUD!

See what the critics had to say.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Could have used more bacon! Maybe he will comment and tell us what he REALLY thought of it.

Megan: The flavor was alright, but it had an odd consistency. Overall, the cake was only pretty good.

Katie: I’m very disappointed in how this cake turned out. I would have eaten it if it were regular old angel food cake, or plain old lemon bars for that matter! Her’s ended up in the trash.