The other day I was chatting with my Mom about Christmas baking. I said something like, “Remember when you made those Christmas Wreaths out of Cornflakes?”

“Yes, ” she replied, “that was the Christmas you and your sister had chicken pox!”

“Oh, yeah! I remember we had little red caftans with gold trim that you had made us, ” I said. “And we were banished to the basement for the evening while y’all had a party!”

Ok, the basement banishment wasn’t so bad. We played with the electric train and fish-shaped Go Fish cards while we tried not to scratch.

I was pretty young, maybe 6 or 7. I guess those wreaths made a big impression on me. I don’t remember Mom ever making them again.

Just a couple of days after our conversation, I saw this on Pinterest:

It was the recipe for those Christmas wreaths!

I knew I had to make them!

They are very easy. Here is the recipe, thanks to Mr. Food.

Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 30 large marshmallows (a 10-ounce bag contains 38 to 40)
  • 1 to 1-1/2 teaspoons green food color
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 cups cornflakes cereal
  • Red-hot cinnamon candies, for decorating
Instructions
  1. In a medium saucepan, melt butter and marshmallows over medium-low heat, stirring constantly.
  2. When melted, remove from heat and stir in 1 teaspoon food color and the vanilla. Add more food color, if desired. Stir in cornflakes.
  3. Drop mixture, 1 tablespoon at a time, onto wax paper. Decorate with candies. Let stand 30 minutes, or until cool.

I only had mini marshmallow. How many minis make a large? Well, if you surf around the internet you will find various different answers. Some say 10, others 12, others 15. One site I zoomed across, sorry don’t remember where, said one cup of minis for every ten large. Thank goodness this recipe called for a multiple of ten!

I tried making the wreaths. I thought I would just grease my hands then I could form the wreath. HA!

It was quite a mess. I happen to have Mom’s Wilton Christmas tree cake pan at my house. It was perfect! (I’ll tell you what I was doing with that in another post.)

I had bought tiny red and green M&Ms to use rather than red hots, so I put those in the pan first.

Then I smushed the cornflake mixture into the mold on top of the M&Ms.

No, this is not just a picture of one red M&M. I’m actually showing you that I put my Silpat liner over the top of my filled pan. Then I just flipped it over.

This is what happens when you press down too hard on the Silpat liner—broken candy.

They didn’t all get broken.

I thought they turned out cute. I do love cute food. Some went into goodie boxes we gave to a couple of friends.

Of course, we couldn’t send the all away. The Critics wouldn’t let me!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: It’s like a tiny little Christmas tree—only sweeter.

Megan: I love them even better than Rice Krispie treats!

Katie: They taste like a dream! A LOT of things would be hard to top this! (Hand over the yummy Cornflake Christmas Trees and nobody gets hurt! Ha ha!)