While making Christmas goodies for my husband to take to work, I stumbled upon a good idea.

Now, it may not be a new idea, very few of them are. It was new to me though.

I was making chocolate dipped pretzels-the long kind. I didn’t want to lay them on waxed paper to dry because I didn’t want them to be flat on one side. I know. I’m weird.

Besides that, when you lay them out to dry, the coating kinda oozes off the pretzel. So then, not only is it flat on one side, but it also has a strange shape jutting out from the side.

Quite the dilemma! Don’t you think?

I could stick them in glasses. No. They would squish together and stick to the glass.

I had to find something more shallow than a glass. A coffee cup?! No. The pretzels would fall over.

But wait!

What if I put some dried beans in the bottom of the cup?! And what if the cup were actually a bowl?!

Ta-da! Looks like this is gonna work!

I guess you noticed that I used other vessels as well. I did have to choose carefully. The vessels with flat bottoms worked best. The pretzels had to find their way to the bottom of the beans and rest on the bowl.

I dipped some pretzels in white almond bark and some in brown. Sorry, I couldn’t say white and chocolate. Vanilla and chocolate, yes. It’s like milk. Why do we call one by its flavor and one by its color?! Sorry, I got off track for a minute there.

After the dipped pretzels were dry, I drizzled them with red and green candy melts like these.

Some of the chocolate pretzels got sprinkles. You have to add the sprinkles before the chocolate dries-duh.

I put the finished products in a little clear bag with a wrapping paper topper.

I ended up making about 100 pretzels. I hope his co-workers like them!