The Pioneer Woman had this recipe for caramel apples posted on her blog not too long ago. It is listed in the Tasty Kitchen tab on her website.

I thought the girls would enjoy giving it a whirl.

The apples turned out pretty nice, and we had loads of fun making them.

The girls were really impressed with their work after I showed them a catalog that sold similar apples.

These are from Pittman & Davis. Six of their apples cost close to $40! Now, they DO have chocolate. Maybe they look a little more professional than our and that includes the shipping, but $40?!

Here is the recipe for the Tasty Kitchen version:

Ingredients

  • 12 whole Apples
  • ¼ cups Butter
  • 1 cup White Syrup
  • 14 ounces, fluid Eagle Brand Condensed Milk
  • 2 cups White Granulated Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Preparation Instructions

Assemble all ingredients: wash and dry apples, insert sticks, and butter a cookie sheet and dinner plate before starting to cook.

Heat all ingredients except vanilla in a heavy 2-quart saucepan over medium/low heat. Stir constantly! (Unless you really like the look of scorched bits on your apples.)

When caramel reaches soft ball stage (235°F–240°F) remove from heat and add vanilla. Let cool a few minutes.

Using the stick inserted in the apples, dunk apples in the hot caramel and twirl slowly away from the heat for a couple of minutes. It’s nice to have a helper or two at this point.

Place caramel-covered apples on a buttered cookie sheet. Optional: drizzle with melted chocolate or roll in chopped nuts.

Extra caramel from the bottom of the pan:
1. Can be scraped out with a spatula into a buttered plate or dish to be cut into individual pieces when cool.
2. Can be thinned in the pan with half-and-half and eaten warm, as a dip for apple wedges.

As you can see we only made 6 apples. I know my girls. I didn’t really think they would eat 12 caramel apples. Plus I wanted to try out using the leftovers as caramels.

The “leftover” caramels were very yummy.

However…

they sat on the counter with with no one showing any interest in them.

After a few days they kinda started to slide over in the pan and lose their shape. I figured I would pop them in the microwave to remelt them and shape ’em up!  Well, let me give you a word of advise here.

STIR!

For some reason I didn’t stir them while they were heating. Duh!

I really do know better.

So, my caramels got a little burned in the microwave. I just scooped out the burned part best I could then stirred it-a lot.

Maybe reheating in the pan was not such a good idea after all.  I buttered the pan before I poured in the “first batch” of caramel. Well, the reheating in the pan didn’t allow me to rebutter. I figured there was enough butter in the pan already. It was a bit of a challenge to get the “new” caramels out of the pan.

If you look closely you can see little burned bits.

I actually ended up cutting the candy squares you see here into fourths. They just seemed too big. The fourths were really a little smaller than I wanted, but oh well!

After my caramel-removing-workout, I grabbed some leftover trick or treat candy.

Oh, yeah, that’s the good stuff.

I melted them in the microwave. I stirred this time! Then I dropped the caramel into the melted chocolate.

I am not a professional chocolatier by any stretch of the imagination. I did know to not stick them in the fridge. That makes the chocolate turn white. However, I did have mine next to the kitchen window and it got really cold the other night. Mine turned white anyway! Rats! I didn’t add any shortening or anything. That might have helped. I just didn’t want the chocolate to be too thin.

I thought the candies were yummy anyway. They tasted a bit like Storck Chocolate Riesen.

Critics’ Corner

Well, I failed to get comments on either of these culinary treats before everyone left house this morning. Guess I’ll have to update later-sorry.