I saw this recipe in the September 2011 Southern Living. Aren’t y’all proud of me? I was pretty quick on this one!

I’m not really sure WHY I made it. I don’t even like slaw that much. There was just something about the ingredients and the pretty picture that made me want to try it.

It just sounded so good. Click the picture to see the recipe, or you can click here.

I originally planned to make the Cranberry-Almond Coleslaw. I changed my mind and went with the original Apple Coleslaw.

Chop up your celery, onion and apple.

Put the slaw in a bowl. I love my square bowls. They are from Pampered Chef-go figure.

Mix the chopped stuff with the slaw.

Love my square bowl, but it was too small for the mixin’. So, I used my big salad bowl. Mixing by hand was easiest for me. Taking a picture of myself mixing by hand was a challenge, however.

Now, you will see in the recipe that you are supposed to mix up the dressing and pour it on the slaw. Well, the picture wasn’t too pretty. You’ll have to use your imagination.

What goes better with slaw than BBQ pork sammies?! All I did was throw a pork roast in the crock pot to cook. I put a little sauce in with it but not too much. I let everyone add their own sauce. The rolls were those frozen rolls that you let rise. Unfortunately, I baked them at the wrong temperature, so some of them were a little on the burned dark side.

Cute plates are usually helpful when new food items are presented. Remember, you eat with your eyes first!

I have to say, I was not wild about this recipe. Like I said, I don’t really like slaw that much. I do tend to prefer a mayonnaise based slaw to a vinegar or mustard based slaw. For a vinegar based slaw it was pretty good. I probably would have been happy with no dressing at all. Try it out for yourself. Let me know what you think. Be sure to see what the critics had to say.

Critics’ Corner:

Chip: I’m not normally a fan of mixing sweet things with savory things — sorry fans of “Cincinnati Chili,” but putting cinnamon in chili is just gross — but slaw is one of those things that can be a tad sweet. I never would have thought to add apples to coleslaw, but they really provided a neat flavor and texture that worked well here. I liked it.

Katie: Yack!

Megan: I’m with her 100%