What a day we had yesterday! Typically I make pancakes on Saturday—every Saturday. I have been searching through cookbooks for new recipes. I came across this one for pumpkin waffles. It sounded yummy. It also afforded me the opportunity to use the waffle maker Mom and Dad gave us for our anniversary!

While this recipe comes from a Cooking Light cookbook, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. We drink 2% milk, it calls for 1%. I’m sure that had an impact on the calorie count.

Pumpkin Waffles

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon ground cloves

1 cup 1% low-fat milk

1/2 cup pumpkin puree

1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 large egg, lightly beaten

cooking spray

•Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup, level with a knife. Combine flour and next 4 ingredients in a a large bowl.

•Make a well in center of mixture.

•Combine milk and next 4 ingredients.

Yep, I cheated and used canned pumpkin!

I didn’t have any dark brown sugar. Use what you have, folks!

•Add to flour mixture. Stir just until moist.

I do want to mention this about the canned pumpkin. I think it is a little more liquid-y than homemade puree. I noticed the first waffle was a little on the gooey side. Might be that I need to turn the heat up a little. I added a little more flour to the mix and the next waffle was better.

•Coat a waffle iron with cooking spray, preheat. Spoon about 1/4 cup of batter per waffle onto hot waffle iron, spreading batter to edges. Cook until your little light goes off, or according to other directions you might have-5 to 7 minutes.

Be sure to sip coffee out of your PCTuesday coffee mug! Isn’t it great! My hubby does the sweetest things for me!

About the only thing that would have made these better would have been some toasted pecans on top! Then again, don’t toasted pecans on top make everything better?

Critics’ Corner

Chip:  It was a little sliver of autumn topped with butter and syrup. Apparently, autumn tastes pretty good, at least with butter and syrup.

Megan:  I think this is one of my favorite ways to eat waffles.

Katie:  They were pretty good. I could taste the pumpkin well. I wasn’t just wild about it. One being the lowest and 100 being the highest I would have to say it was a 98. But it was pretty close to 100.

That was just for starters!

We headed into town to the Argenta Farmers Market.

Chip really wanted a nice beefsteak tomato. Guess were were a little late in the season to find tomatoes. They had plenty of squash though!

I ended up buying some local honey. Not that I needed honey. The tiny little bear was just so cute! Sorry, no picture. (Bad blogger! Shame on you!)

We left the farmers’ market and headed down the interstate to a wonderful antique  junk shop. Sorry, no picture of the outside. My photographer didn’t get the message. I don’t even know the name of the shop. It’s in Bryant, AR just off the service road. If you pass it you have to go a couple of miles before you can turn around and come back and go a few more miles. Ask me how I know!

This is what it is like on the inside:

I was in heaven!!!

We, ok, I had a blast! Everyone else had fun at first. I cut my looking short and left empty handed, for the sake of the children.

Nothing a trip to Wendy’s at 1:30 wouldn’t fix! No wonder the were getting grumpy!

After lunch were were on to our next stop…the new Apple Store! (You should hear angels singing right now. If you don’t, you must be using a PC! haha)

I had to go drool on the iPad2. It was just so cool! And WOW, look at that great looking website! Hmmm, something familiar about that!

That was lots of fun! Katie read a whole chapter in the Beezus and Ramona that was on one of the iPads.

Anthropologie was right next door, so we had to go.

Our last stop took us to the “Big Dam Bridge” at Murray Park.

Taking pictures helped my heebie jeebies. I really only got them when someone would get close to the side. Don’t ask me to explain it. Yes, I know they weren’t going to fall.

You can just barely see the flags in the picture below. We were way on up there!

It was a great, fun-filled day! We all slept good last night. Today was a good day of rest. I can hardly wait to see what tomorrow holds—most likely laundry.