Hey, look! I’m posting! I know you all thought I had given up blogging. No, no. We got really busy with back to school shopping and room cleaning. Neither of those activities is exactly a picnic. But, the girls have cleaned out drawers and closets in which to store their new duds. We’ll see how long that lasts. School has started. Maybe I can do a little catching up on my blog posting. Cross your fingers!

You may recall that I am the queen of tearing recipes out of magazines. Well, this one is from Woman’s Day magazine, July 8, 2008! I checked their website to try to link to the actual magazine page. It’s so old they don’t even have it in their archives, that I could find anyway. Guess it’s a good thing I tore it out and kept it THREE YEARS AGO! Hey, at least I finally got around to it. Fear not, it is not the oldest recipe/pattern/idea/whatever in my collection.

Can you stand the cuteness!

Before we left for our vacation, in July, I had bought a watermelon. I knew we wouldn’t be able to eat it all before leaving town. So, I chopped up what was left and stuck it in the freezer on a tray.  Once frozen, I put the cubes in a plastic baggie in the freezer.

When we got home from vacation, I remembered my adorable recipe that I have been saying I would try for the past three years. But alas, I did not have any popsicle molds. Well, I did, but they weren’t the right size.

I have one of those Tupperware molds. Remember those? They are similar to these just without the mouse ears.

Anyway, I had to go get some.

Aren’t they fancy with their little “dripper-sippers”. (That is my name for the sippy part, not theirs.) So glad I got the fancy ones. I had to use a popsicle stick for the recipe.

Here is the recipe:

Guess I should have read the recipe again before I going to the store.  As you may have noticed, the recipe makes 12 pops. Did I use my Tupperware popsicle mold for the other four? No. I grabbed some bathroom cups. Duh!

The glossy magazine picture says “take 30 minutes”. Wellllll, I think it took me a little longer than 30 minutes to do these.

Ok, this was probably the worst part. I didn’t let the melon thaw out enough. The directions say to freeze to  a semi-frozen state. Hard-as-a-rock watermelon takes a bit more to puree. I used a food processor rather than a blender. Ours blender bit the dust a while back. We really only miss it in the summer time.

Once I added the sugar and corn syrup, the watermelon really took on a slushy appearance.

Pouring the slush and holding the mold and taking the picture all at the same time was tricky!

Aren’t my bathroom cups lovely? Guess I should have wiped up the counter before I took the picture. Oops!

I looked high and low for coconut sorbet. It was pretty hard to find. I finally sent my hubby to the Fresh Market to see if they had it. The Fresh Market is a fabulously fun place to go. I highly recommend a field trip.

The Fresh Market came through for me. Shortly after Chip found the coconut sorbet, I was reading Family Fun magazine. Come to find out, there was a “Watermelon Day” in early August. They printed a very similar recipe in their magazine. Here is their version.

This is just a picture of the squished up sorbet. I had never had coconut sorbet before this watermelon pop experience. So glad to have tried it. Oooo la la!

I used my handy-dandy baking pad thingy as a liner for my honeydew in the freezer. Much easier than waxed paper-trust me on that one.

I didn’t take this picture. I was much easier that way.

We soaked the popsicle mold in some water in the sink for a minute or two. Presto!

No, I didn’t make the girls wear those green shirts. They sure are appropriate for the picture though!

Critics’ Corner

Chip: It tasted like REAL watermelon!

Megan: All I have to say is: YUM!

Katie: It was very creative. We know the cuter foods taste much better, and that’s what this was! MMM!!!