Well, it has been a little while since my last post. Sorry, I’ll try to do better. I’m also sorry to say, we have finished our Impressionists study. Well, we actually finished about a month ago. I’m just slow getting everything posted.

Let that serve as a warning. There may be several “Impressionists” post in a row in the near, or not so near, future. I’ve got some other good stuff lined up as well. I know you are tingling with anticipation now!

This post is actually rather short anyway. That being said…enjoy.

Our next lesson was not really a lesson. It was more of a break reinforcement of some the things we had already learned.

I found this Monet video at the library.

I didn’t really know what to expect. It was actually pretty good, as far as animated educational videos go.

It hit a lot of the high points that we had already covered.

I think the girls thought it was a little silly, but oh well.

In the video they mentioned that Monet painted caricatures of people while sitting at Paris cafes, for money of course.

car·i·ca·ture

[kar-i-kuh-cher, -choor]  noun, verb, -tured, -tur·ing.

1. a picture, description, etc., ludicrously exaggerating the peculiarities or defects of persons or things: His caricature of the mayor in this morning’s paper is the best he’s ever drawn.
2. the art or process of producing such pictures, descriptions, etc.
3. any imitation or copy so distorted or inferior as to be ludicrous.

I thought it would be fun for them to draw caricatures of each other.
Oh, it was fun alright! They laughed and giggled ’til they cried. And the pictures, well, I don’t know that they were caricatures as much as just a goofy picture of a sister, by a sister.

Katie thought her picture of Megan was hilarious.

Megan got a pretty good kick out of it, too.

See what I mean-goofy picture!

Katie was equally tickled to see the picture Megan drew of her!

Another crazy caricature.

Fun was had!