While cleaning off a little shelf in the kitchen the other day, I came across a blue file folder. I recognized it immediately, even though I had not seen it in quite some time.

When I was a Pampered Chef lady, there was a chat room for consultants at www.cheflist.com. I checked. Lo and behold, it is still there! Seems like, back in my day, you could join for free for a limited time, but then you had to pay a small fee. Anyway, that’s not important. I was a very energetic consultant eager to learn new tricks of the trade, so I checked it out. There was so much there! I copied MANY recipes from this site.

One day I decided to go through and chunk the ones I thought I would never use. Well, some were on the same page with ones I might use. So, I got out my highlighter and red pen and marked the ones I wanted to try.

Peanut Butter Cup Dessert was one of the “chosen ones”. I call it Nutter Butter Pie. It just sounds more fun that way. Feel free to rename it for your own needs!

Nutter Butter Pie

14 finely chopped Nutter Butter cookies

3 TBSP butter

10 pkgs. Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (or 20 miniatures) Keep in freezer until ready to chop

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cups cold milk

2 pkgs. instant butterscotch pudding (3.4 oz each)

1 12 oz. container of Cool Whip

chocolate sauce

•Chop cookies using food chopper, combine with butter.

Be sure to notice Katie’s CRAZY face while she chops! It had been a full day. This was later in the day, and folks were getting silly!

•Press crumb mixture onto bottom of a springform pan.

First, put the pan together.

•Chop 6 of the peanut butter cup candies. Cut remaining into quarters and set aside for garnish.

Some of my proportions may have been a bit off when I made this.  You see, for some reason, who knows why, Katie had a whole package of Reese’s cups in her room! Unopened! My kids are really good about not pigging out on candy. They always ask first. Who knows how long the candy had been there! Scary, I know. I stuck them in the kitchen in hopes of getting rid of them. If you will notice in the ingredients picture, I also bought the teeny tiny Reese’s cups. I didn’t realize the recipe called for 10 packages and we only had 6! I was going to use the tiny ones as garnish. I had to use a bunch of them in the pie. I’m not sure if we had 10 packages worth or not. Oh, well. You work with what you have.

By the way, when Katie saw her candy being used she kinda’ freaked! I was able to convince her to share and all was well!

•Measure peanut butter into batter bowl using the Measure All Cup (Pampered Chef reference).

•Gradually mix in milk. Whisk pudding mix in until dissolved and beginning to thicken.

•Fold 1 1/2 cups whipped topping and chopped candies to the peanut butter mixture until well blended. Spread over crust.

•Use the rest of the whipped topping to cover the peanut butter combo.

You can get fancy and pipe it on and carefully place your garnish on top. OR you can do like we did and smear it all over the top and throw the garnish at it.

It really doesn’t matter. It is yummy either way.

We were so excited to taste the fruits of our labor, we totally forgot about the chocolate drizzle on top. Oh, well. We never really missed it.

I must take a moment to vent. We had to go to 3 different stores before we found Nutter Butters. That was not the vent. Here comes…

Do these LOOK like Nutter Butters to you! They are NOT the peanut shape! Hello! Nabisco! What have you done! They have the same yummy flavor. But come on!

Ok, I feel better now.

I did actually find the peanut-shaped Nutter Butters a couple of days later. Sorry for the vent.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: The pie was extremely peanut buttery — which, of course, is a good thing — complemented with just the right amount of Cool Whip®. But the kicker was the little, tiny Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups® on top. Delicious.

Megan:  It’s peanut butter, chocolate, cool whip, and refrigeration. What’s not to love!?

Katie:  As I am a combination maker, the peanut butter pie was a huge hit! I think that everyone would think so.