A few weeks ago Chip and I decided to clean out the garage. One of those things you never want to have to do. Our garage is really like a storage shed. No cars are ever parked there. It is full of some old furniture that belonged to my grandparents, Christmas decorations, a riding mower, washer & dryer, various other junk! Yikes! Among the tubs full of “various other junk” was a hot plate from my college days and some old some pots and pans. “No, we can’t get rid of that. Those are good pots!” (Why are they not in the kitchen being used if they are so great!) “Leave that box where I can get to it. I will use some of those things. I promise.”

In a previous clean-out session with the craft closet, I found some old candles. Not wanting them to clutter up my nice neat craft closet, I stuck them in the garage.

You can guess what we came across in the garage clean out-yup-the candles. “Do we really need these old candles?” he asked. “I’m going to melt them down into one new candle,” she said matter-of-factly.

Now, I got these candles when we lived in Indiana. I don’t really remember where. They smelled good, and I had a new candle holder. However, they burned down in the middle and left the sides tall. I decided at that time to melt them down into one candle. Two moves and about 10 years later…I’m gonna do it!

Afraid that the candles and hot plate would not make it through another garage clean out, I decided to go for it!

I wish you could smell them. I think it is a pear fragrance. Not sure, don't care. I like it.

This was a new venture for me. Obviously, or I would have done it 10 years ago! I wasn’t really sure what I was doing. It was a learning process. I did, however, know what to use as the “new” candle container. My mother-in-law brought me a couple of cleaned out Yankee Candle jars not too long ago. At the time I had no clue what I was going to do with them. I always feel bad about throwing away the used candle jar. My community does not have a recycling program. I’m no tree hugger, but I don’t like to waste things. My Dad’s favorite saying was and maybe still is Use it  up. Wear it out. Make it do, or Do Without!

So, I had me a jar. I got a package of wicks at Hobby Lobby for $2.99 plus I used my 40% off coupon. This project was very inexpensive. Woo Hoo!

First, I chopped the candles up into chunks. Sorry, no picture. I couldn’t wield a knife and take pictures at the same time.  I used two of my “good pots” to make a double boiler. Please notice the use of the hot plate as well.

You may have noticed that I am doing this project on the porch. I did not want to risk a fire on the stove in the kitchen. Paper sacks were used to prevent wax all over the porch. Please, if you attempt this project at home, use safety precautions. Make sure nothing is near your hot plate. Do NOT walk away from this project. This has been a public service announcement. Thank you.

The wax was starting to melt-hooray! It didn't take very long.

Once the wax is all melted, you need to strain out the gunk. I tried to get all the wick debris out, but there was still a little left. I think most of the gunk was dust from sitting around for 10 years! All I knew was I did not want that stuff in my new candle.

All ready to pour. The instructions on the back of the wicks package said to use hot glue or a little dab of hot wax to hold the wick clip in place. I used the hot wax.

Unfortunately, as soon as I started to pour the wax into the jar, the neatly positioned clip let go of the jar! My wick was floating all over the place! Ahhhh! I yelled for one of the girls to get me a pencil. I used the pencil to try to hold the wick in place. Then the clip came off all together. So, I have a candle clip floating around in my new candle.

Isn’t she lovely?! Ok, you can do your best Stevie Wonder at this point.

I may try this again sometime. I have more old candles and candle jars.

As the candle cooled, the center sank down really low. Strange. That was what happened to begin with with these candles. At least this time the wax will be contained by the jar! Maybe it will even out as it burns.