I stopped by Mom and Dad’s house the other day after taking Megan to the dentist. I found Mom in the kitchen making a pie. She already had the crust made. I said, “Hey, wait! I’ll take pictures and you can be a guest chef on my blog!” Dad has a camera just like ours, so I knew how to use it. Well, at least as much as I know how to use ours.

Mom and a few other ladies have a book club. They pick a book to read then take turns as hostess. The book they had this month was  The Aloha Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini. Naturally, a Hawaiian theme was in order for the evening.

Piña Colada Pie

Crust:

1/3 cup butter, softened

2 1/2 cups flaked coconut

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Combine coconut and butter and press in a 9-inch pie pan. Bake 4-5 minutes. Set aside to cool.

 

Lucky you! The recipe Mom used for the crust was actually from a different pie. You get a bonus recipe!

Mom said that the 4-5 minutes was not quite long enough. The pie would have been better with a crispier crust.

Filling:

3/4 cup pineapple-coconut nectar (recommended: Kern’s)  Mom couldn’t find the Kern’s. She substituted Bacardi Pina Colada Mix.

1 cup light coconut milk (recommended: Thai Kitchen)

1 1/2 teaspoon rum extract, divided

1 (3.4 ounce) box instant vanilla pudding and pie filling

1 cup shredded coconut

8 ounces whipped topping, divided

1/2 cup shredded coconut , toasted, for garnish

•In a a large bowl, combine nectar, coconut milk, and 1 teaspoon rum extract. Sprinkle pudding mix over liquid and whisk for  a couple of minutes.

I love this little measuring cup!

•Fold in coconut and 1/2 the whipped topping.

•Pour into pre-baked pie crust and chill in refrigerator for at least 3 hours.

•Combine remaining whipped topping with 1/2 teaspoon rum extract. Top chilled pie with whipped topping and toasted coconut.

Oops! She accidentally put all the rum in the filling.

I think something is wrong with Mom’s oven. The coconut was in there for 30 minutes and it still didn’t brown! It felt like toasted coconut. Oh, well.

I think the ladies had a good time. I don’t know about the book. Maybe they will leave us a comment about the book AND the pie!

If you look carefully, you can see Mom’s reflection in the mirror of the cabinet.

Critics’ Corner

Megan happened to be there to taste the filling since she was out of school for her dentist appointment.

Megan: It was soooo yummy!

PCTuesday: The crust looked very yummy. I didn’t get to taste it though. The filling was oooo la la! I didn’t even taste the rum much. Of course, I just had a little sample from the bowl. You could leave the rum out all together if you want.