I came across this cookbook not too long ago while going through some of my grandmother’s things with Mom.

 

As I flipped through it I saw names I remembered hearing Juju mention. Then I came across Mary Steely’s name. She was one of Juju’s besties, so I paid a little more attention to what the recipe was. It was for Dago’s Delight! Mom used to fix this all the time when we were little. It seems like I remember liking it. So, I thought I’d try it out on my own family.

 

Click the recipe for an upclose look.







Dago’s Delight

1/2 lb. ground round steak  I just used whatever ground beef I had.

1 medium onion

1 clove garlic

3 Tbsp. bacon drippings

1-No. 2 can tomatoes

1/2 can cream corn

3 c. noodles (dry)

1 c. parsley-chopped fine  I left out the parsley.

1/2 lb. Swiss cheese  Only had mozzarella in the fridge. Swiss gives it a VERY different flavor.

*Put meat in pan with onion and garlic and brown in bacon drippings. In a separate pan stew tomatoes and parsley-do not boil-but simmer. (Sorry but I have never “stewed” tomatoes before. I just dumped a 15ish ounce can of diced tomatoes in a pot and let them cook for a little while-Just until some of the water cooked off.) 

*After cooking down put all ingredients together, and cook until mixture is well blended, stirring constantly. Fold in the noodles which have been previously cooked, (Cook the noodles-even though the ingredients say “dry”. The 3 cups is the measurement prior to cooking.) the corn and the diced cheese. Save part of the cheese to sprinkle over the top. (I grated my mozzarella.)

*Bake in casserole in slow oven (325 degrees) for about 45 minutes.

Yeah, baby! They went back for seconds…

Critics’ Corner

Chip:  The flavor was good and casserole-y. Since I love casseroles I was very impressed.

Megan:  It tastes like a hamburger but the noodles from the top were rather crunchy.

Katie:  I LOVED it! In fact, (this is saying something) I loved it so much, I didn’t even think about eating my bread!