It’s funny what inspires a person come dinner time.

A friend of mine recently gave me a bag of cashews.

No, she did not give me an empty bag of cashews. I just forgot to take the picture until it was too late! I get focused on the cooking and forget to take the pictures.

I remembered that I had a couple of chicken breasts in the fridge-viola! Cashew Chicken! Now, how do I make cashew chicken?

Rather than paw through my cookbook library, I headed straight to the internet. I found a recipe that only called for things I had. I quickly scribbled down the recipe. Why didn’t I print it out? duh. Oh, I remember now, that was when I was out of ink. You’ll be happy to know the ink cartridge has since been replaced. Well, shame on me. I failed to jot down the website. Bad Blogger! Shame! I tried to search for it again, to no avail.  So, I am sorry, person who posted this recipe. If I find you again I will include you here.

Cashew Chicken

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

3 Tablespoons oil

red bell pepper-I think I used about a 1/4 cup

onion-maybe a half of a medium onion

1/4 teaspoon ginger

1/2 cup cashews

2/3 cup chicken broth

2 chicken breasts

Combine chicken broth and cornstarch. Set aside.

Cut up the chicken and toss it in a bowl with the soy sauce.

Saute the cashews in 2 Tablespoons of oil.

Remove cashews from pan. Cook the chicken until done. Remove from pan. But put it in a little bowl or something. You don’t want to wipe off all the soy sauce yummy.

Add remaining tablespoon of oil to pan with onion, peppers and ginger.

I think the recipe called for green peppers. Use what you like or, in my case, what you have.

Luckily, I had these babies in the freezer-woo hoo!

I thawed them a little. I don’t think they were completely thawed when they went in the pan.

After the veggies have cooked a little, throw the chicken back in the pan. You don’t want to cook the veggies so too long. They are going to cook some more in a minute.

Pour the broth over the chicken/veggie mixture. Stir to thicken. Stir in nuts.

I cooked up a pot of linguine and added the noodles to the thickening sauce.  Some frozen peas and a quick trip to the local Panda House for egg rolls and dinner is ready!  A fancy plate always makes a new dinner menu more appealing.

No Asian feast is complete without fortune cookies!

Critics’ Corner

Chip:  I loved this. You can eat until you just can’t eat any more and an hour later you can have more-how cool is that?

Megan: I like the Cashew Chicken better than any Chinese food I’ve ever had (save for fortune cookies & eggrolls).

Katie:  I liked the Cashew Chicken, but I like it without the cashews.