I’m really not one of those people. You know, those ladies who make the best meatloaf, blueberry pie, homemade bread, whatever, but refuse to share their recipes. I can understand. They want to be known for their fabulous dishes. If they share, it is no longer their dish. I, however, am not that lady. Look at me! I’m blogging about recipes for Pete’s sake.

Last night I was sharing a recipe some friends. It wasn’t until this morning, when I saw the leftover coffee in the pot, that I realized I had inadvertently forgotten to mention an ingredient. So, this is for Regina and Paula, and anyone else who want to try this recipe.

One of my “go-to” cookbooks…

Chocolate Mocha Chewies

1 package plain devil’s food cake mix

1/3 cup brewed coffee, at room temperature That is the part I forgot to tell you about! It was there, I just didn’t mention it.

4 tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, melted

1 large egg

1 cup milk chocolate chips

1. Place the rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 350º F. Lightly grease 2 cookie sheets with solid vegetable shortening. Set the pans aside. I didn’t grease my pans. I used my baking stones and they did great.

2. Place the cake mix, coffee, melted butter , and egg in a large mixing bowl. Blend with and electric mixer on low speed for 1 minute. Stop the machine and scrape down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula. Increase the speed to medium and beat for 1 minute more.

The dough will be thick. Fold in the chips until well distributed.

I used these chips…


One, it was what I had.

Two, they are just so stinkin’ cute!


3. Drop heaping teaspoons of dough 2 inches apart on the prepared cookie sheets. Place the pans in the oven. (If your oven cannot accommodate both pans on the center rack, place one pan on the top rack and one on the center rack and rotate them halfway through the baking time.)

4. Bake the cookies until they have set but are still a little soft in the center, 10-12 minutes. Remove the pans from the oven. Let the cookies rest on the sheets for 1 minute. Remove the cookies with a metal spatula to wire tacks to cool completely, 20 minutes. Repeat the baking process with remaining cookie dough.

Here they are! All ready for potluck. It never fails. When I take a dessert, there are 1,000 desserts. No one seems to mind that there are lots of desserts, however.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Coffee + chocolate… you do the math!

Megan: I loved them! I mean it was chocolate with chocolate chips! How do you go wrong with that?!

Katie: It was awesome! This is really saying something…It’s even better than chocolate chip, and that is my favorite cookie of all time!