Ok, that may be a little extreme. Let me explain myself.

A couple of years ago our church offered Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University

I was able to convince my husband to take the classes with me. Dave encourages couples to take the class together. It’s a team effort!

Dave’s big push is getting out of debt. This is a very good thing. However, we didn’t have any debt.

Dave’s other biggie is budgeting. Ooops-we were not good at this-at all! So, we have been learning. We also learned that I should be the one to keep the books. For one reason, I’m home and have more time to spend on paying bills, etc. Secondly, it bugs me more if the checkbook is not kept just so.

I know, what does all of this have to do with tortillas??

One month our food budget was all gone. There was money in the bank. There just wasn’t any left on that budget line. It’s a game of sorts. So we were doing some adventure eating. You know, getting creative with what you have in the pantry and freezer without zipping to the store.

We were going to have fajitas for supper. The chicken had marinated. The cheese was grated. The tortillas…were at the store. We did not have tortillas! How could I have overlooked this important detail?! You kinda need tortillas with fajitas.

Then I remembered a recipe in my recipe box.

How would I ever find it in that mess?

Victory!!!

I have had this recipe for a long time. In one of my college home ec. classes we had to keep a recipe box for the semester with so many recipes for each category-breads, salads, main dishes, etc. We also shared recipes for dishes we fixed in class. One girl made caudillo and flour tortillas. Seems like the caudillo was a Mexican meat of some sort. I can’t remember the girl’s name, sad. Anyway, she made these tortillas. They were really good. I had made them once upon a time when hubby and I were first married. They did not turn out too great.  This time I was desperate! They HAD to turn out edible.

Fortunately, I had all of the ingredients for the tortillas. They were easy to make. They turned out super yummy, especially with the fajitas. See, no need to run to the store. Dave would have been proud.

Now, any time we are having fajitas the kids beg for homemade tortillas. They really do taste better.

Last night I had a little helper.

First things first!

Thank you Vanna.

Flour Tortillas

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup shortening

approx. 1/2 cup tepid water

oil

1. Place flour and salt in a bowl; combine briefly. With your fingers work in the shortening until it is mixed through evenly.

 

 

 

 

2. While stirring, add enough water to make a soft dough. The recipe calls for about 1/2 cup. This time it took a bit more than that.

I don’t know that my helper really liked this part. This is what her hands ended up looking like:

I did scrape her hands and let her go wash them.

3. Divide the dough into 12-18 equal pieces and roll each piece into a round ball.

4. Coat each ball with oil and allow them to stand for about 15 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Katie really liked this part. She tried to grease the dough faster than I rolled it! We also incorporated a little math vocabulary and skills. She knew that she had made and array of dough balls, 3 x 6 = 18!

5. Set an ungreased griddle or large thick-bottomed skillet over medium heat.

6. With your palm, press each ball into a flat, round cake and sprinkle both sides with flour. Roll each cake of dough on a lightly floured surface to an 8″ round (for 18 tortillas).

7. Lay one tortilla on the preheated griddle and cook until bubbles form on the top side and the bottom is flecked with brown.

OOooooo, bubbles!

Flip the tortilla, pressing down on the bubbles with a spatula, and cook until second side begins to color.

Yes, I did intend for a picture of a heating pad to be in a post about tortillas.

This ideas comes straight from one of my faves, Alton Brown. He uses a heating pad covered with a tea towel on high to keep his tortillas warm! Genius! Hey, if he can do it, I can too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Awwwwe, look at my little tortilla runner on her way to the tortilla warmer! So cute!

 

 

So, I guess I shouldn’t blame Dave Ramsey. I guess I should thank him. Thanks, Dave, for making me inspiring me to make homemade tortillas! I’m livin’ like no one else!

 

Critics’ Corner:

Well, to be honest, I didn’t ask them this time. Their mouths were too full of delicious tortillas to give me a response.

Mmmmmmm is good enough for me.

Megan did say she doesn’t even like store bought tortillas.