Last night was our Sunday School class’s turn in the potluck rotation. Basically our turn to set up tables and make the tea. Everyone brings a dish, not just our class. There is always a lot of yummy food to load on your plate. Not a good night if you are on a diet, however.

There are a few things you can always count on on potluck nights…

Mr. Joe’s fruit salad…

 

Ms. Sally’s Taco Salad (Sometimes Ms. Sharon beats her to it. I don’t know if they discuss who will make it or not. I don’t ask. I’m just happy it is there!)…

A bucket of fried chicken (I know the bucket says grilled. Trust me. It was fried.)  And…

lots of desserts.

One of the perks of being on the set up crew is first-dibs on dessert!

My choice for the evening, Ms. Jan’s homemade banana pudding. Ooooo, it was so yummy.

Let the feasting begin!

What a great time of fellowship we have. Makes me so glad that I’m a part of the family of God. We are brothers and sisters in Christ. We may squabble and fight from time to time, just like an earthly family. But when push comes to shove, we are there for each other.

Three years ago our church family was there for us in a big way. An EF4 tornado destroyed three family member’s homes, killing my husband’s  grandmother. The troops rallied, bringing 20+ men and women with chainsaws and bulldozers to help people they didn’t even know. Not to mention the financial gifts and necessities they sent.

 

 

Yes, we ate then too!

 

 

 

 

 

And now, the family is there once again,with the loss of our beloved Papaw. There have been many phone calls, hugs and prayers.

Papaw was my grandfather-in-law, as well as my brother. Papaw came to trust in Christ at the age of 18. One day we will be at that heavenly family reunion together. Papaw will be greatly missed because he was greatly loved. He was greatly loved because he loved so greatly.

Are you part of the family of God? Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ and you will be saved.