This recipe is not from MY Aunt Liz. It is from my kids’ Aunt Liz, who is actually my sister.

I have never been a fan of guacamole. I’ll wait while you start breathing again.

I don’t know why I didn’t like it–maybe the fact that guacamole is green and made from vegetables.

One summer, Liz was at our house for a visit. She has been living in Texas for quite a while, so she has learned a thing or two about guacamole.

Not wanting to be rude, I tried her guacamole. I’m sure I looked like a cat eating glue! But guess what…I liked it! I wasn’t the only one. The whole family liked it!

guacamole ingredients

Fresh ingredients are a must!

I like cutting open an avocado. Give it a slice around the pit.

cut avocado

Twist the halves apart.

Stick your knife into the pit and lift. The pit will pop right out! Do this carefully. Don’t let the knife slip off the side of the pit and onto your thumb. If it does, then you will have to wear a band-aid on that nasty gash. Then the band-aid is just in the way while you are trying to finish the recipe without adding an “extra ingredient”. Just sayin’!

You can score the avocado flesh while in the skin before you scoop it out if you are using chunks. Otherwise, just scoop out the whole thing.

scoop out avocado meat

Orange and lime juices keep the avocado from turning brown. I think this is the real reason I liked Liz’s Guacamole. The citrus made is so fresh tasting.

citrus

orange juice

Chop your onion fine to hide it from family and friends, or leave it large enough for them to pick out if they don’t like it.

fresh ingredients

Aunt Liz’s Guacamole

2 avocados, mashed

juice of 1/2 a lime

juice of 1/2 and orange

dash of garlic powder

red onion, chopped-however much you like. I think I used less than a 1/4 cup

salt and pepper to taste

Liz used cilantro in her recipe. I, however, HATE cilantro.

I’ll wait for you to breathe again, again. If you like cilantro, feel free to add some.

Chop it all up. Mix it all up. Serve it all up. Gobble it up!

guacamole served in an avocado shell

Cute! Look what I did! I stuffed the guacamole back into the avocado shell with a little garnish! Fancy, huh?!

Do you eat guacamole? Have you ever had it like this with orange juice in it?

