While sitting in the orthodontist’s waiting room with my daughter for what seemed like forever, we flipped through every magazine they had!

Our orthodontist’s office selection of magazines is much better than our dentist’s office. At least the choices are less than a year old!

Megan and I scrutinized the glossy pages for a scrap of something interesting to bide our time.

I believe it was magazine #5 that held our interest. Sorry, I looked at so many, I don’t remember the specific copy.

recipe

If you have been around Pork Chop Tuesday for a while, you have read about our experiences with quinoa. If you are new, you can catch up here and here.

Megan was beyond excited about trying Quinoa Meatballs and asked if we could have them for dinner. Fortunately, I had just picked up some ground pork on sale for $1.81 a pound!

I snapped the picture of the recipe with my iPad.

We finally made it out of the orthodontist’s office and headed home.

Quinoa Meatballs-raw

I had to tweak the recipe a little, not too much though. I used yellow onion rather than shallots. I will be amazed if my little Walmart ever carries shallots. I had my hesitations about the cinnamon. I am ANTI Cincinnati Chili, which uses pumpkin pie spice-yuck! I used the cinnamon anyway. I think I may leave it out next time. Although, the cinnamon gives the meatballs an exotic flavor. I also think it helps mask some of the garlic.

I used my small scoop to form the meatballs. I didn’t round them out in my hand. I just scooped them onto the parchment. Next time I will take time to form them a little better.

I think they look a little weird.

Quinoa Meatballs-cooked

Part of the strange appearance is the quinoa! It looks like my meatballs have the measles or something!

The whole crew was anxious to try this new dish. Check out their comments in the Critics’ Corner.

Quinoa Meatballs for supper

Hopefully, this blog post will serve as your inspiration, and you won’t have to pour over magazines in the orthodontist’s office.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: These are better than good but less than great. I’d certainly eat and enjoy them again.

Megan: I didn’t expect them to be kinda spicy, but they were delish!

Katie: LOVE them! : )

