We recently had some of our good friends over for dinner. Since the last time they were at our house, Joanna has discovered that she needs to stay away from gluten.

Well, that ruled out all the stand-by “company’s coming” recipes. This was going to be an adventure for sure.

You may have seen me begging for ideas on the Pork Chop Tuesday Facebook page. Thank you for your suggestions!

I really thought about a Mexican dish of some sort. I ended up going with Chicken Curry.

(I probably should have stuck with the Mexican food. My family loves Chicken Curry. I guess it was kinda risky to spring an exotic flavor like curry on guests.)

Chicken Curry

(This is my Mom’s recipe. I don’t know where she got it.)

2 Tbsp. butter

1 ½ cups apple, finely chopped

½ cup onion, chopped

½ cup celery, chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 Tbsp. flour (use corn starch for gluten-free)

2 ½ tsp. curry powder

1 tsp. salt

1 ½ cups chicken broth

1 small can tomato paste

2 cups chicken

Melt butter; add apple, onion, celery and garlic. Cook 5 minutes. Stir in flour (or corn starch), curry powder and salt. Slowly stir in chicken broth and tomato paste. Cook and stir until thick. Add chicken and heat thoroughly. Serve over rice.

Making Curry

Top with your choice of condiments:

Raisins

Shredded coconut

Chopped boiled egg

Crushed pineapple

Crumbled bacon

Chopped peanuts

Mango Chutney (Ok, I don’t ever use the chutney. Mom loves it. Since it is her recipe I felt like I had to put it in there.)

The condiments are really the best part. I remember when Mom would fix curry when I was a kid. I loved being in control of the “extras” that went on my plate.

Plus, they look pretty. I used a plastic tray I had saved that came with veggies and dip one time. I sat it on top of a gold charger on top of a Lazy Susan. The fake flower ended up in the middle rather than the chutney.

Curry Condiments | PorkChopTuesday

Condiments

The kids had their own set of condiments. They got to use this cute little set Mom got me for my birthday last year. I love the tiny spoons! The kids ate at the coffee table and sat on the couch cushions.

Color Serving cups

Here is the curry without any “extras”.

Chicken Curry from Pork Chop Tuesday

Whew! We made it through the main course gluten-free!

Dessert was a different animal altogether.

As I scoured the internet for GF recipes, everything called for specialty flours. I priced some at the health food store a while back. They are very expensive!

I didn’t have time or money to make a trip to the big city health food store. I had to find something that would work. By work I mean that I could buy ingredients in town they didn’t cost an arm and a leg!

I came across a recipe for Fudge Mountain Cake. Her cake was beautiful! Could it really taste good without flour?

Here is what mine looked like.

Flourless Chocolate Cake | Pork Chop Tuesday

Her recipe says that she actually made a double recipe and used milk chocolate in between the layers.

I opted for the single recipe with some of the ganache between layers. If I make this again, I will make a double recipe. The cakes rose up nice and tall in the oven. As they cooled, they shrank down and got compact.

Baking without flour is a little different from baking with flour.

My cakes fell apart. I had to “glue” them back together best I could.

messed up cake

The cake was very dense and rich.

The original post had fancy chocolate curls on top. I went with the whipped coconut milk. I had never had whipped coconut milk. I had pinned a recipe/how-to on Pinterest not too long ago.

That part was really easy. I just stuck a can of coconut milk in the refrigerator overnight. When I opened it up, I had whipped coconut milk. No shaking, stirring or mixing. You can add a little sweetener or even chocolate if you like. We went plain.

I was glad I added a strawberry along side of the cake. I really added it for looks. The strawberry actually helped to cut some of the richness of the cake.

Ok, the single piece of cake looks a little better than the whole thing. We will end with that.

Flourless Chocolate Cake | Pork Chop Tuesday

I didn’t have the Critics review the Chicken Curry. They have eaten that numerous times and love it every time.

Here’s what they had to say about the cake though.

Critics’ Corner

Chip: Apparently flour just holds cake back. This was one of the best cakes I’ve ever had.

Megan: Moist, rich, and c’mon: it’s chocolate cake.

Katie: Chocolate cake is a splendid treat for all ages. This cake sky-rocketed to the top of my cake list!

